help exchange   Host 23803
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Pont Farcy
All Year: Nov - Dec 2016
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 23803
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 26, 2019

We are an English family and have lived in France since the beginning of 2005. We are Richard, a retired forester, and Sue, a part-time teacher.

We live on a 5 ha small-holding and our intention is to be as self-sufficient as possible. During the winter months, we cut wood from the traditionally managed bocage hedgerows, to power our wood burners the following year. We have a small vegetable garden, that we are trying to enlarge and keep our own sheep, and hens.

Richard and Sue have both worked in the countryside over many years and believe in maintaining a balance between their needs and the needs of indigenous wildlife.

Our own menagerie also includes two dogs, a cat (definitely 'The Boss"), a horse and a miniature horse.

The property is an old farm complex and has several outbuildings, including a gte (a converted farmworker's cottage).

We realise that it would be difficult for one helper to provide all types of assistance, so we will gradually work through a list of jobs and projects. Some are season reliant, others not. We would ask for 4/5 hours work a day, 5 days a week. The tasks include (but the list may be added to....)

* enlarging and caring for vegetable garden

* erecting and maintaining fencing

* hedgerow management for firewood (chainsaws can only be used by
qualified users but a lot of the job is clearing and burning the branches)

* building maintenance (including pointing/rendering/cob repair)

We would also expect the volunteer to help with kitchen duties and general tidying in the house.

We can pick up from the stations at Vire, St Lo or Lison. We speak English and some French.

PLEASE. if you contact us to ask about a visit tell us if you aren't coming as you may nlock a place for someone e lse.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use