help exchange   Host 24154
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 24154
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 27, 2014

We are located in Metung in regional Victoria on the stunning Gippsland Lakes. We have room for an individual or couple. We can offer unlimited wireless internet, your own private bathroom, in our home along with all meals and utilities in exchange for work around the property, occasional baby sitting or in exchange for work on the boat. We would require 5 hours a day. Along with helping around meal time, cleaning up dishes etc.

We have 2 dogs along with 5 horses and 1 pony, chickens and bees. The animals are considered part of our family and the dogs both sleep inside and spend time inside. We like to find the time to enjoy or boat and you are welcome to join us. We also try to eat us much fresh produce from our garden as possible, unfortunately at the moment going into winter it is looking a little sorry and in need of some love.

When you contact us please indicate the dates you would like to come and stay.

We are very easy to get to via train from Melbourne, the train arrives in Bairnsdale where we will pick you up.

Our house is located a pleasant 1.5 km work from the main town with most of it along a boardwalk on the waters edge.

David and I both work from home, so we are around most of the time and have pretty hectic and busy lifestyles, so energetic people who can keep up are always welcome.

When you contact us please indicate the dates you would like to come and stay.

Spring and summer are coming! Our large timber fishing boat is dire need of slipping out of the water, sanding, filling, scraping, painting and general love. If you have the experience, knowledge and know how we would love some help with this somewhat rather large task. The boat is normally out of the water for about a week, depending on what work that needs completing.

Additional work that we normally have available includes

Extended stay for an Au Pair
Need to enjoy children!
Our four year is a happy normal active child. Your tasks would include, art, activities such as going to the park, reading and playing outside. Also some light duties around the house, sweeping floors, basic cleaning and a bit of cooking.

General help around our property, tasks are varied and might include, but not limited to:
Playing with our three year old, reading, puzzles games etc
Picking up toys :)
Cleaning cars, inside and out
Cleaning our house, floors, walls, cupboards etc
Weeding and digging in the garden
Weeding around fruit trees and mulching with manure
Cleaning up horse poo
Cleaning windows & outside our house
Oiling decks and furniture
Cleaning bathrooms
Polishing our small fibreglass boat.
Cooking (if you enjoy this task)
Feeding chickens and collecting eggs
Cleaning the chicken coop

As you can see we have an endless list of tasks.....

Additional work on our large timber ex fishing boat, tasks might include:
Stripping paint
Chipping rust off the engine
Re caulking decks
Cleaning insulation out of an old fish room

Please only apply if you are physically fit and healthy, with reasonable English skills and a good attitude. Please be aware, that not all of the jobs are the most pleasant e.g. cleaning insulation out of an old fish room on the timber boat.

We also require someone that will happily follow instructions and work unsupervised or along side us. We also generally prefer people who have a complete profile including a least one picture, thanks :)

We can offer unlimited wireless internet, your own private bathroom (occasionally you might be required to share, but not often) and a cosy home along with all meals and utilities. You will be staying in your own room in our home with a heated electric blanket, if you choose

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use