help exchange   Host 24303
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Waitakere
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 24303
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 23, 2019

Hello :)

***We are looking for either one or two helpers who have some experience in painting (interior and exterior) or basic carpentry please or landscaping ***

My daughter and I are looking for helpers to stay with us in our 3 bedroom house on a 1000sqm block of bush in Laingholm, West Auckland. We would like guests to stay for 1 week to 10 days please, with the option to stay longer if agreed.

About us:
I am 39 years old and my daughter is five. I work part-time from home as a social researcher and I'm also a graphic designer.

My young daughter and I have a home filled with character, an organic vegetable garden and our home has breathtaking views of the Waitakere Ranges, the Manukau harbour and native bush. We have chickens and the house also has unlimited wifi :)

The house is in a beautiful location out of the suburban sprawl but with bus links to the city, bush walks etc. and close to many beaches. Sorry the photos on our listing are a bit old, but you can see more of our place via our airbnb link above.

The help exchange:
We have hosted about 15 helpx guests and have really enjoyed the experience. I do my best to make guests feel welcome and enjoy the chance to get to know new people and share our beautiful place with them. We have one comfortable spare room with a double bed offered in exchange for 4-5 hours of work per person each day. I also really appreciate some help with cooking or dishes outside of the work hours too.

The work:
As noted, I am looking for two people with practical experience to help me finish off some painting from our recent renovations to our house and, also some other small jobs around our place.


We can be flexible with work hours/days, ie work a full day for a day off to go sight-seeing. With the exception of the day you arrive or leave, each day is a work day, but as noted there is no problem organising your work days around the other things you'd like to do while you stay with us.

I have a workshop in the garage and helpers are welcome to use my tools etc to get a van ready etc.

We are vegetarian, so all food here will be meat-free :)
Cooked evening meal will be provided. But if you like cooking then that would of course also be very very welcome. Breakfast and lunch is 'help yourself', with food provided.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you :)
Emily and Ffion


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use