help exchange   Host 24442
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

El Sargento, B.C.S.
All Year: Nov. thru Apr. each year
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or M/F couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 24442
Country: Mexico

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 29, 2020

Work & Play this Winter in Sunny Baja, Mexico !!

It is important that you read this entire profile!!

This volunteer opportunity is usually only available during the "winter" months of November through March. Please note that our 2020 spring season is over, and for the near future we are only accepting volunteers for stays beginning the last week of November 2020 through March 2021.

Rich and Shari are retired, living in Idaho, USA, but spending the winter months in beautiful Baja Mexico. We have a beachside property near the small - but rapidly growing - fishing village of El Sargento, not too far from La Paz, BCS.

We are non-smokers, interested in health conscious, ecologically responsible lifestyles, respecting different cultures and ideas. Shari is very interested in music, being a semi-retired piano and voice teacher. Rich is a competent builder and handyman desiring assistance with building our home and making repairs and improvements to our property here in Baja.

Volunteers of all ages and either sex are welcome to apply, but volunteers must be fit and reasonably strong as some of the work may involve lifting and moving moderately weighted objects. Building skills, and familiarity with tools are not necessary, but would be beneficial. The ability to work safely, listen carefully, pay attention to details, remember instructions, ask pertinent questions, and learn simple skills is important.

Work tasks might include helping to: build short stone retaining walls, move and level soil, pour and finish concrete, paint, lift and position building components, clean and sand surfaces, and woodworking. Skills that can be learned or practiced include: stone masonry, concrete forming/ placement/ finishing, plastering & stucco, painting, sheetrock installation & finishing, simple electrical/plumbing, cabinet/furniture making, and fabric (PVC) assembly. If you have automobile maintenance/repair skills or welding experience, we could use that also.

General maintenance may include grounds cleanup, pruning select vegetation, some manual watering, fertilizing, possible transplantation or removal of plants and soil erosion repair and control. Also rust removal, re-painting, and fence repair. We may also need help maintaining or improving our small vegetable garden.

We allow some work hour flexibility to accommodate special interests, events, occasional long "weekends", etc. We ask that you plan for about 25-30 hours of work per week.

A small private trailer with a “double” bed for one person or a partnered couple is normally available. Bedding and towels are provided. The trailer is not used by the hosts and has a table, sink, stove and closet. A refrigerator and an inside bathroom with shower is available in a separate building on the premises.

Shari likes to keep our own private and common living spaces clean and tidy and we expect volunteers to keep their private living spaces and the common ones they share with us, reasonably clean and tidy also.

You can bring your own RV or tent if you prefer.

Under most circumstances we ask for a minimum stay of 4 weeks if you are desiring accommodations provided by us (if you bring your own tent or RV - we allow for a minimum stay of 2 weeks). However, if you have specialized skills (such as welding) that we could utilize, we may allow for a brief stay under mutually agreed arrangements.

We allow pets only if they are well behaved, will not cause ANY problems, and are capable of being confined if we request this (you must provide the means of confinement).

The hosts will provide food (more on this later), internet access, electricity, water and laundry services. You can also have periodic use of some of our recreational equipment. Normally we can provide limited transportation (via automobile) to La Paz, shopping and other nearby areas.

We center our diets around whole food fruits, vegetables, beans and seeds, also eating some grains, bread (usually homemade); and pasta, eggs and cheese on occasion. We do not drink coffee or soda, and Rich rarely drinks alcoholic beverages (Shari never)- plain old water or herbal tea are our favorites. We never eat red meat or chicken - and very seldom fish. Normally we grow a vegetable garden with lots of different greens that we share with volunteers.

We recognize food is usually a very personal choice and we don't wish to prohibit volunteers from exercising that choice. Consequently we have decided to provide volunteers with basic food supplies (or the equivalent) and ask all volunteers to prepare their own meals. Nevertheless we occasionally like to share time eating dinners together. We do however insist that volunteers abide by our guidelines in disposing of waste and cleaning up after cooking.

It is just over 1 km to the village of El Sargento, with another 5 km to the village of La Ventana. The area is a popular destination for water sports aficionados - mainly kite boarding and windsurfing - but also kayaking, SUP, sailing, scuba, snorkeling, swimming, fishing, whale/dolphin/sea-life watching and more. There is also excellent mountain biking, hiking and beach walking opportunities. The community has a decent artistic and musical population. We participate musically by attending and sometimes performing at one of two evening weekly "open mic" sessions. You can find Yoga (and other misc. classes), frequent music venues, and lots of small family run eateries. There are local groups that play Pickleball, go hiking, mountain biking and more. There are plenty of Spanish speaking locals and quite a number of English/French/German/(more) speaking "snowbirds" winter in the area if you want to chat in different languages.

Nearby La Paz is a busy city with just about everything. There is limited bus transport to La Paz and frequent buses from La Paz to other major towns and cities. Hitchhiking is fairly easy here in the peninsula (according to prior volunteers).

We have a wide, often uncrowded, sandy beach just in front of our 3 acre property and a fantastic view of the sea and Isla Cerralvo. Sea turtles often lay their eggs here, so you might get the opportunity to see them hatch if lucky. You can occasionally see jumping rays, porpoises, plenty of sea birds, underwater marine life and even whales out in the ocean off our beach. Our neighborhood is normally quiet, with mostly native flora being home to small wildlife (birds, quail, rabbits, etc.).

Normal temperatures in winter are ideal, with lots of sunshine, warm days, cool evenings (great for sleeping). Humidity is fairly low for such close proximity to the ocean. It can be quite windy at times (almost every afternoon). Not very many pesty insects - and most reptiles are hibernating or keeping a low profile. Sunrises are often dramatic - aglow in reds and oranges - especially when weather brings in more cloud cover. We have plenty of transitory birds (including hummingbirds) visiting this time of year.

We prefer volunteers with feedback. In lieu of that, we may ask for personal references. Our feedback has been entirely positive and we can direct you to other references should you desire these.

We always leave feedback for volunteers staying with us. So far we have had wonderful experiences with all volunteers. You can expect an honest review from us if you stay here, and we also expect you to provide us with your feedback within 2 weeks of departure.

If you have a fully completed and informative profile with photos, and you submit a personalized request (instead of a standard cut-and-paste one), you stand a much better chance of being accepted.

Here's an important part, so pay attention. We believe in respectful behavior and communication between hosts and volunteers. Unfortunately we have encountered many examples to the contrary, so we feel compelled to establish the following condition. If you initiate a request to spend time with us and at some later time change your mind, we expect to be notified - or - if we are having an "email dialogue" with you, we expect a response - both within a reasonable time frame. If you fail to extend this common courtesy we may leave a non-positive feedback for you regarding this behavior.

Make sure you include the words "cardon cactus" in your response. That way we are almost certain you have read this entire profile and have carefully considered the information therein. Otherwise you may be refused.

Congratulations you made it through this lengthy profile and we look forward to receiving your request. Cheers!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use