help exchange   Host 24494
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Area (ha): 1 HA
Persons: 2-3 people
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 24494
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 1, 2017

Hello, hello, our Dear Future Helpers!. The following is a thorough description about us which we hope it will help you to take the best decision. Please, read it carefully (despite its lenght, hahaha) and hmmmm... thank you for having your news ;)))

We're a married couple, not old, not young :)), I mean, 72 and 66 years old -my husband is the oldest. I'm the youngest ;)-. We're living in an amazing Spanish site, in Las Alpujarras de Granada (Andalusia).
My husband and I are living most of the year in a woooonderful semi-isolated place, in the middle of the mountain, but not an ordinary mountain... nooo. It's a very special mountain. To the South, it faces the Mediterranean sea; to the North, a higher mountain (South of Sierra Nevada); several little white villages... some valleys... what else can I say?. Oh, yes... 15 minutes walk from a famous buddhist center (O'Sel Lin) and close to the National Park of Sierra Nevada. It's a marvellous mountain and our house is there, 1,540 m above sea level with gorgeous views!.
Everything is fantastic, buuuut... there's too much work for us. We'd like so much to get some help in exchange of food and lodging...
It's more than 30 years now since we started building our house -apparently, it's already finished, hahaha-. My husband has been the “main author”. He has worked soooo hard in our gardens, which are so special because he has designed them stone by stone, has planted over 150 species of plants, has built the 6 stone fountains-albercas (“alberca”: Spanish word for watering ponds) and, in short, he has “put his heart” in every inch, thinking of our children and of me :).
We do also have a vegetable garden of about 3,000 sq.meters which is in full production from med September, with .... yummy, yummy vegetables, completely free of chemicals.
Oh, by the way. We've got two lovely dogs taking care of our “cortijo” (Spanish word for andalusian country house... or similar) and of us :))). There are also several cats but, as everybody knows, they love independence and we never know where they are, except when they are hungry...;).

Actually, this is the type of help we'd need:
Cleaning our huge gardens.
Some assistance for our country and house works.... he's not as strong as he used to be :(.
Some pruning, digging... and gardening related jobs.
For all this stuff, it would be fine some strong person ;).
Cleaning the house, make some food preserves and, eventually,
ORGANIZE, ORGANIZE and ORGANIZE! some rooms or spaces (did I say “organize”? Well.. yes, organize, order... call it however you want). This is a matter of patience, creativity, sense of ORGANIZATION and a veeery good mood :))). I think I don't forget anything important.
5 daily working hours: usually, from 9 to 14h / 5 days a week.

In return, this is what we offer:
Healthy meals (which doesn't mean vegetarian, but “mediterranean diet” -Spanish olive oil, natural salt, all dishes prepared with our own vegetables whenever possible...-). I personally cook for lunch on working days and for the rest, that is, breakfast, dinner, week-ends, you’ll enjoy your breakfast/dinner on your own, feeling free, “your” hosts keeping away from you ;-) so that you can feel as if you were on holidays. And, please, don’t worry about food… we’ll provide you with as much as you need :-)).
You will always have your “own private house” (with your own privacy), which is on the ground floor, just below ours, with your own bedroom; sometimes sharing bathroom with other Helpers or for your own use... depending on the moment ;). In any case, we'll always try that you feel as if you were at home… or almost :-)).

For your own comfort, it would be convenient you've got your own car in order you can drive here and there on your time off. But, if this is not possible, we'd pick you up on your arrival at one of the nearest villages and would take you back when leaving.
Just something else. Pleeease, bear in mind that we are living in a WONNNNDERFUL spot where the closest village is 20 minutes driving (on a dirt road) far from our house, which means that there are no cafeterias, no pubs, no shops close to our house. So, our surroundings are: mountains, paths, gorgeous views... in two words: Wild Nature.

Wi-fi is available in some spots of the garden and in your house, though with a slow speed.
Mobiles signal is rather good.

And what's about wheather? Here we can have everything: sun, fog, clouds, cold... summarising: a continental wheather. This is Andalusia, but it's also a high mountain, for which we'll have nice summers (nice and agreeable cool, in our cortijo) and “normal” winters, ranging from snow (not much) to foggy, cloudy, sunny, rainy, etc.
This is a place to love... relax, meditation, walking, writing, painting, Nature observation, stargazing, landscape viewing, silence... in short, this is a place to be loved... simply.

Our house works with solar energy for which reason high power consumption devices are not to be used, except in our house, where we can control whether and when we can use them. Sorry :-(.
We do also have a shared swimming pool (not necessary in winter, hahaha) and parking place. Should you come by car, you may know that Granada is 1.30h drive; 2-2.30h drive to Sierra Nevada sky resorts; over 1 hour to the nearest beaches (Salobreña, Almuñécar) and, besides all that, there are some other activities around the area: horse-riding, mountain-bike, quads, paintball, archery, hang gliding... at your cost ;).

What else?... as you can see, my written English is pretty good buuut, not so much when speaking and understanding (particularly on the phone) :))).
And finally, we suggest that you read our previous Helper's references about us. You'll likely get a better idea of the place, the housework, jobs and of ourselves :))


SEE YOU SOON!!!!????
Sorry. I forgot to tell you that our house is a "SMOKE-FREE HOME". Thanks a lot ;).

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use