help exchange   Host 2463
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


South Auckland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6.7
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2463
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 4, 2020

Hello and Welcome to NZ,

I need a helper from 7th August.

I built this eco-house from earth bricks and natural timbers, because I wanted a healthy, relaxing environment.
It's on a 17 acre (6.7 hectare) paradise looking onto native bush, located in the Bombay Hills, about 60 km south of Auckland CBD and 12km from the bus stop or the nearest shop.

I've studied Organic Horticulture and grow our food that way, living a holistic, healthy lifestyle. There's avocado, lemon, lime, mandarin, banana, macadamia trees, as well as fresh vegetables and herbs.

Personally I eat an "O" blood type diet including meat, without grains and dairy, but I can buy them for you. Please tell me your food needs as I want you to be happy.

Mature helpers who speak English are welcome, so they can follow instructions to work on their own, and have enough life experience to see what needs to be done and tidy up as they go.
I like to have people around me who are conscious and conscientious.
Please tell me your previous experience and skills as I am not able to constantly supervise.

I appreciate 5 hours work a day, help with preparing meals, dishes and keeping the fire going in exchange for healthy food, accommodation and a unique experience in rural NZ. If you work more hours a day to gain credits, then take a day off to go sight seeing.

I host nonsmoking, drug free, health conscious people who are spiritually respectful of others space and the environment. If you are a `Freedom Thinker` then we will have some stimulating conversations !!!

There's a variety of things we need help with -

- oiling timber on the house exterior

- firewood splitting

- stacking firewood or chainsaw work

- gardening, with an eye for making things look beautiful.

- setting up a hydro system to make electricity

- building a fun flying fox

- concreting little patios

- arborist work pruning trees

- re-organising and de-cluttering

- WORDPRESS website work

If it is raining there are a variety of inside jobs, like sanding, painting and cleaning.

Unless you have references from other hosts showing on your profile, please give me a CV or references from an employer, a landline phone number or an email address, so I can get a reference, thank you.

It is a 5 minute bush walk to the waterfall and swimming hole (see picture) and glow worms at night. It's a 20 minute drive to the Miranda Hot Mineral pools if you have a car.

There is good internet connection here for emails and browsing via Ethernet cable because we prefer not to have wifi for health reasons, however it can be turned on if you need it to get your emails on your phone or iPad.

No TV, but some meaningful movies, stereo, karaoke, guitar, bike and central heating (in winter).

The Intercity Bus comes through Bombay, which is 12km away where I can meet you.

Check out my website and contact me if you are interested.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use