help exchange   Host 25289
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Micanopy, FL
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 10-12
Category: Animals
Host ID: 25289
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 7, 2020

*please call or email if you want current pictures or additional information about housing,kitchen,animal husbandry offered here at the farm.
And please read our whole description.


Our names are Sid and Susan, we and our four wonderful children started our family farm.
Our family farm is 30 acres of land with old forest, developed over the years into an integrated whole, with many innovative inner connected systems; we have been in operation since 1983.
We live at the edge of the beautiful, small, old-Florida town of Micanopy,FL. Gainesville,FL is just 10 miles north of us giving you access to a fun college town and many of the world famous springs known for some of the best snorkeling and diving. There are crystal clear rivers as well for canoeing. Our location gives easy access to Tampa, Orlando, Jacksonville and the beach; all being two hours from our front door. (We can't always take you around)
We have a native wetland tree nursery , that utilizes a terraced "rice patty" watering system (ebb-flow),being one of the first of it's type. We also grow all types of fruit trees, as well as flowering shrubs, ornamentals and native trees.

We have a beautiful mile-long nature trail which is continually being refined and expanded.

Our irrigation water passes through a herbaceous aquatic filter bed & to naturally feed a pond aquaculture system. You can see our greenhouse design, maintenance and many types of plant propagation.

We welcome international visitors with open arms! This gives us an opportunity to experience other cultures from all over the world.

We also run a top notch breeding kennel. Our wonderful dogs are all of working breeds that love people. Learn many aspects of small animal veterinary science, including lab technology.
Then there is the organic garden which produces our food seasonally.

We are into the arts, drawing, sculpting, photography, web design, pottery, etc. We have a pottery studio that we need to do some work in and we require volunteers to help get it back up and running.

We have lots of reading books with many different subjects from animals to philosophy to pottery.

We also have a large shop which is set up for welding, wood working and equipment maintenance.

We have immediate and ongoing openings for motivated visitors, who would like to be part of a team.

We have lots of private housing sites on the property with water and electricity. This is not a BnB it is a farm. Some visitors may have to give up a large room to accommodate a couple. We have tent sites as well. Wifi is available at the main house.

No smoking is preferred but is okay. If you do smoke there is NO smoking in the buildings:)
If you do smoke Please bring enough money for cigarettes WE DO NOT BUY THEM FOR YOU!!!
We do the farm work everyday, please tell us ahead of time if you need to take off a day or more. Four to six hours of work per day is required more or less. We ask minimum of 3 weeks . It take a week (7 days)to teach most people their jobs. The second week to settle into their job then by the 3rd it's a breeze.
(Ask if we can take you for shorter stays)

We do not use pesticides so we have bugs. (We do use medicines on the animals such as dewormers and flea and tick control. ) We also have lizards, gators, frogs, toads, snakes, and did I mention bugs? It is semi-tropical. It is humid and hot and I LOVE it!:)

Food is provided. We are NOT vegetarians We love good food. Most visitors cook their own breakfast and lunch. Dinner is a group effort. A typical meal is meat/protein, 2 vegetables, a starch, salad, either home-made bread or a yummy baguette from a store, and dessert.

Everyone helps with cooking dinners and cleaning the kitchen. Routine kitchen work,tidying up the living/dining area,and keeping you own space tidy is not considered part of your regular hours. This is required. We are not your parents we are part of a team. :)

On-going work includes pruning, weeding, composting, vegetable gardening, grounds maintenance, equipment maintenance, dog care, chicken and goat care, pig care and maintenance, and much more.

Remember "REAL" farm work is hard, dirty, sometimes repetitive, and always rewarding.

We like to balance work with fun. We have a nice swimming pond, fire-pit & BBQ picnic area. Summer nights often find us taking a dip and enjoying sitting around a fire, eating, engaging in lively conversations and generally having a good time.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sid and Susan :)

reviews (14)
Helper: Lacey Pryor Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: March 28, 2019
I had a good time here. Sid and Susan were very generous to me while I was he... view complete review

Helper: Dale Bonk Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 26, 2018
The worst experience ever. Sid is a child in a man's body. Susan is just a nu... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Tamir Malul Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Israel Date: April 17, 2017
I've spend almost 3 months in sid and susan's farm and I can tell you I loved... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Alexandre and Camille Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 26, 2017
We stayed about a week within this farm in Florida. It was a last minute requ... view complete review

Helper: Ekaterina and Mikhail Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Russia Date: November 2, 2016
We was happy to visit McCarty's family month ago. They are so lovely people, ... view complete review

Helper: Tatyana Losik Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Russia Date: September 22, 2016
What an incredible month I had with some amazing people! Truly one of those g... view complete review

Helper: Derek Carne Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Chile Date: September 16, 2015
I stayed with Sid, Susan and family all July with my 2 sons, aged 12 and 8. ... view complete review

Helper: Risa Hosomi Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: June 28, 2015
I stayed with McCarty's family for about 3 weeks and I'll never forget everyt... view complete review

Helper: Aida and Aurelien Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 16, 2015
Ohhhh Mccarty family ! We don't even know where to start.. We spent a mon... view complete review

Helper: Szilard and Orsolya Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hungary Date: May 13, 2015
We spent 2 weeks with a McCarty's and we enjoyed every bit of it! They greet ... view complete review

Helper: Natasha Marie Ahmed Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: October 30, 2014
I have recently left from my stay with Sid, Susan and their amazing family an... view complete review

Helper: Paul Adams Ellen Baker Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: March 4, 2014
We stayed with Sid, Susan, and their family for a month and we had a great ti... view complete review

Helper: Ryan Banyard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: February 2, 2014
This is the place to be. Especially if you like dogs. Because they're every... view complete review

Helper: Kerri and Jeff Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: January 29, 2014
My husband and I spent two wonderful weeks with the McCarty's. Susan and Sid... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use