help exchange   Host 25310
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25310
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 6, 2020


Fully booked now until mid February.

We offer a comfortable room and good food in exchange for the congenial company of reliable, cheerful dog-lovers who are willing to undertake a range of tasks such as gardening, cleaning etc

Our 2 daughters after time spent travelling (and Helpxing) are now at university (one of them recently returned from a year studying in Japan) so our household usually consists of two people and a large dog (friendly, bouncy and always pleased to meet new people) I often have other dogs to stay too, so you need to be relaxed and happy around dogs.

We also have a pet rabbit.

We are situated in the countryside mid way between Cambridge and Newmarket, five minutes walk from the bus stop. The beautiful city of Cambridge is eight miles away and from there it is only an hour by train to London (50 minutes on a fast train)

We offer a room with large double bed/twin beds (can be made up either way depending on preference) and en suite toilet, shower and wash basin. Bedding and towels are provided. Wifi is available. Non-smokers only please.

We require help with a range of jobs around the house and garden - these may include sanding, painting, carpentry, general housework (hoovering, ironing, dusting, cleaning windows etc) and gardening.

If you have skills in sewing, building, carpentry or plumbing you will be especially welcome as we are renovating our house and have a range of projects to tackle!

We would like to tidy up/landscape the garden so experience and imagination here would be helpful. Routine tasks include weeding, hedge trimming and lawn mowing. I need some raised vegetable beds constructing so let me know if this is something you could do.

We ask for 4 hours work on 6 days in return for all meals and accommodation. If you would prefer to work 3 x 8 hour days or 4 x 6 hour days and use the time for days out etc we are flexible about this.

All meals are included and I am happy to cater for vegetarians. Please let me know your dietary requirements before you arrive! If you enjoy cooking you will be very welcome to contribute! You will be expected to help tidy /clean up in the kitchen after meals and help keep the house clean and tidy, including your own bathroom.

We have travelled/lived and worked abroad and we enjoy swapping travellersí tales - just returned from a fabulous 3 weeks in Japan. We are happy to help you develop your spoken English.

We have bikes available for you to explore locally and there are lots of good walks nearby. There is a swimming pool and gym two miles away. Cambridge itself has many attractions, whether you enjoy museums, arts, shopping or simply absorbing the atmosphere.

If you are travelling here by train or coach I can collect you from Cambridge. Stansted airport is 30 minutes by train from Cambridge. If you have your own transport we have off-road parking

I would prefer you to contact me first by email please. Please explain what it is that attracted you to this placement and what you can offer in return.

I am unlikely to reply if you do not have a photograph on your profile, if the name on your profile does not match the name in your request or if I can see that I am just one of a long list of people to whom you have sent messages.

Please be clear about the dates when you are available. Please note, References are essential.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use