help exchange   Host 25429
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Garrison
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25429
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 2, 2019

Hi
Thanks for your interest in coming to stay with us and taking the time to read all this! We are nestled in the beautiful wood in the Hudson Highlands just off the Appalachian Trail on a dirt road just up from the Hudson River. If you love the woods, you’ll enjoy it here. We have lots of wild life, deer, coyote, bear, bobcats...We are somewhat “secluded”, well, surrounded by trees is more like it, but also in proximity to NYC. It is easy to get to NYC on the RR if you were ever in the mood. We have wonderful neighbors and a very cool community of creative and conscious people.
I am a therapeutic yoga teacher for over 30 years and have a small but very well equipped yoga studio on premises that I teach out of.
I also work internationally with a few not-for-profit groups called The Tracking Project and Mother Earth Restoration that teaches nature awareness to youths and works to preserve ancient indigenous wisdom and culture and are basically dedicated to saving the Mother Earth. I am in the process of bringing that work to our neck of the woods and turning my home into a home base on the east coast for that work to expand here and it's happening!! So, me and my son who is 15, and my daughter who is 17 need some extra hands to turn this place into an to an eco-retreat center. We want to start a organic garden as well as soon as possible.
The areas I need help in are landscape or gardening design and maintenance, yard work, general home maintenance… It all depends on what time of year you come to stay with us what you would be doing. In the cold month, we would be doing more indoor projects. If you can drive it would be wonderful, not necessary but it might make your time up here more fun since we don’t have mass transit available in walking distance.
Some qualities we are looking for are good communication skills and being mature and reliable would be appreciated. Someone is a self-starter, who sees what needs to be done and does it. We have a very healthy lifestyle and would love to share with you, and of course lots of yoga and nature. We have a dog and cat. We eat as much organic produce as I can afford. We have lovely a room downstairs that has a separate entrance and a yoga studio next to it. The yoga studio is equipped with an Iyengar rope wall and far infrared lights. If you play an instrument, bring it!
We have successfully hosted aupairs and helpers for more than 16 years, and we always look forward to meeting new people. Please email me: … When you are available, previous work experience, reference and your interest aspirations and any other pertinent information. Thanks and look forward to meeting you! We are looking forward to hearing from you! I am looking for someone to start as soon as possible! Thanks so much

reviews (2)
Helper: Felix Musselmann Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 27, 2015
Lisa is a really nice and warm person and the three weeks I stayed with her a... view complete review

Helper: Judith McHale Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: December 19, 2014
Lisa is an absolutely sweet and lovely spirit. I enjoyed the solitude and se... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use