help exchange   Host 25501
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Yallingup Siding
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25501
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 24, 2020

Hi there awesome backpackers.

We would love some help now if possible .

Its a perfect time to see our beautiful part of Western Australia, the south west of WA :) (three hours by car, south of Perth)(the beaches are beautiful, surf is great, lots of beautiful nature to explore, we see kangaroos and possums, magpies, kookaburras, lizards and all sorts of creatures at our place) :)

Our organic food Garden needs lots of work, we love to grow our own organic food and right now we need some help with the organic food garden, and our orchard will soon be in season with oranges , and some small construction work if possible ..We would love and very much appreciate some help with all sorts of things (planting seeds, trimming, mulching, weeding and general tending to our organic food garden, as well as feeding animals chickens, ducks, pigs, guniea pigs , baby chicks and our sheep and lamb)

We are needing also, general stuff around the house and gardens to be done . We have chickens and ducks that need feeding and their eggs collected daily , they are friendly and seem to speak all languages really well ;) .

Our family home is 5 acres (2 hectares) of natural bush located in Yallingup Siding, which is part of the Margaret river wine region. (Three hour drive south of Perth)Just down the road is the famous Simmos ice creamery and some wineries. It is a short 10 minute drive to awesome surfing beaches (some of the best in the world)(ten mins the other way leads you to the tranquil Geographe bay with sandy beaches for walking, fishing, crabbing etc.) and we also enjoy other water sports such as diving as do some of our children. We are blessed to be a family of 8(children are 22, 20, 16, 9, 6 and a baby) and it would be nice if visitors who wish to come and stay can be flexible to work with us so everyone can benefit and have free time to relax. You would not be asked to do anything that we wouldnít be prepared to do ourselves.

All major construction has been completed on our house building but there are finishing touches that could be done so if you have a trade we are sure we could benefit from your knowledge. We would love help with carpentry, stonework, bricklaying, concreting, tiling etc for the grounds and garden features also, we are always creating new things around the place :) and we love to recycle things throughout the garden.

We enjoy working our organic garden which helps to feed us healthy foods. Our home is not a commercial business so it would be better if visitors are genuinely interested in sustainable living and organic gardening. That way the sanctity of our home and garden would be respected. There will be varied foods available as some of us are vegetarian but it would be our privilege to enjoy food from visiting cultures, so help in the kitchen is always welcome.(and we have developed a love of crepes ;) )

Accommodation is self-contained so you have the freedom to interact with us when you feel like it. Our only water supply is rainwater,so as long as we dont waste water there will be plenty to share. Could you please be English speaking and NON SMOKING. Accommodation has 2 double beds and some bunks, so children are welcome. (And of course we wouldnít expect them to work in exchange for accommodation or food but a few extra parent hours would be appreciated.)

The work in exchange for accommodation and breakfast , lunch and dinner could include general maintenance, gardening and planting in our organic garden, building garden beds , sometimes housework and special creative projects to do depending on your skills. (4 and half hours a day 6 days a week for breakfast ,lunch and dinner and accommodation). You would have Sundays off to relax, or explore our beaches and area. There is some information about our region here
We are flexible with the hours so some days can vary .

Itís best to have your own car if you want to explore on your time off but itís not essential as we are always willing to show you around :)

We look forward to hearing from you ,

Steve, Belinda and family

(the fotos are of our organic food garden, the bike wheels are a trellis for our cucumbers and tomatoes to grow on, it was built by an awesome French couple we had stay with us,the wave is in the bathroom of the accomodation, the carrots are from the garden) We love to recycle and create in our garden , so it is a fun place to work in and grow food in :)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use