help exchange   Host 25636
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Learmonth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: up to 5 .
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25636
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 24, 2019

We have helpers most of the time here but at present we do not have any. Several have just gone travelling.

WHAT DO YOU GET FROM HELPING HERE AND SHOWING THAT YOU ARE A GOOD WORKER????? YOU get a REFERENCE from us , which is an AUSTRALIAN reference and will lead to LOTS of other paid work-whether you are planning on staying for good in Australia or simply working your way around as a tourist.

BUT... We NO LONGER TAKE HELPERS WHO DO NOT UNDERSTAND FARM LIFE. You can't learn farming in a week, so if you have experience with rural living OUTDOORS then we would like to hear from you.

We live on a farm which provides a great deal of our food. We always have meat ( chicken, pork, beef, lamb) in the freezer and eggs ( duck , guinea fowl, pheasant, hen) and goat milk. We also grow vegetables.

We have fabulous food every day - Thai curries, pizzas, roasts, stews. There is always a LOT of food. We make our own beer and wine and ginger beer and lemonade . We make jams and pickles and cheese and butter.

We do not take vegetarians or vegans.

We live about 25km from Ballarat in Victoria and can pick people up from the railway station if you do not have a car.

HELPXers who are here generally help (voluntarily) about 5 hours a day.
Ours is a small (120 acre) mixed farm with a goat dairy, sheep, cattle, poultry and donkeys.

We speak both French and German reasonably and have traveled.

We often look after our little grandsons ( 3 years and one year old) and have a LOT of visitors and people coming to have meals with us- mostly young people.

We have dogs who come into the house including a very large Irish Wolfhound and young sheep dog who is a hit with everyone.

HELP NEEDED INVOLVES

1. Goat milking and shed cleaning either at 6.00am or in the evening .
2. Care of organic market garden - weeding , hoeing,planting , manuring, harvesting.
3. Feeding animals ( baby lambs and kids and calves and feeding out hay using a tractor)
4. Painting and decorating .
5. Harvesting and preserving and helping at seasonal markets.

All helpers sleep in their own private bedrooms in the house. Couples welcome.

We usually have three or so helpers at one time
Most of our HELPX and WWoofers stay several months here (because they like it) but we are fine about shorter stays.

My husband has Stage 4 bone cancer, so we also welcome extra help from strong fit people. Although he is well enough to farm at the moment, he is 73.
We have helpers here most of the time / interns.
We have very dear friends who come each weekend to help VOLUNTARILY on the farm with gathering wood and building .
You can look at our Facebook page link above, where helpers have recorded a video of the farm and there are lots of pictures of what we are doing now. We also send you a document which outlines very clearly what we expect from you and what we offer after you have contacted us.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use