help exchange   Host 25724
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25724
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 23, 2015

I am a writer who works full-time. I have traveled in parts of the Middle East, Asia and Europe and very much enjoy getting to know other cultures and languages. Two reasonably well-behaved, young, school-aged children live in the house half of the time.

This is a vegetarian, non-smoking (you are welcome to smoke outside), tidy household - it is a modest suburban house with character. The house is near train/buses and only 10mins drive to the city centre. The house has a kitchen garden, including native bees and hens. The house is in a quiet area but is within reasonable walking distance to a little café precinct, a library and a major shopping centre. The house is on the inner north side of Brisbane and is a bit over a half hour drive from the rainforest of Mt Glorious (see the photo of my child bushwalking) and also the seaside of Sandgate.

In Brisbane you can see the Gallery of Modern Art, South Bank, Queensland Museum, Botanical Gardens, Lone Pine Koala Park, Story Bridge adventure climb, the city lights view from Mt Coot-tha, West End and The Fortitude Valley bohemian cultural precincts ..and Brisbane is also not far from Stradbroke Island.

I am looking for gardening help, particularly with the kitchen garden, and some housework. However, you will be treated as a member of the household - invited into conversation and eating meals together and sharing stories.

The bedroom on offer is one of the children's rooms. Obviously they would not be sleeping there at night while you are staying but they may want access to the room during the day to fetch toys and clothes. At night you would have plenty of privacy as the bedroom is upstairs with its own bathroom. There is a connecting door to downstairs that can be closed so you are blocked off from the main area of the house. If you are travelling as two people then you would need to be happy to share a room together. The room has one single bed (and a second single mattress available on the floor). You would need to be a fairly tidy person and while I am home you would also need to be on the quiet side as I am often writing. However, I am often out of the house during the day and sometimes in the evenings.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use