help exchange   Host 25821
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Mia Mia
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.80
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25821
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 24, 2019

About us
Hi, we love having helpers, our names our Stephanie and Dave, we are a married couple with two of three kids at home 15 and 25. We both work, Dave is a plumber and Steph is a teacher/caterer. We are what you would call a typical family, sometimes a little dis-functional but otherwise normal. At the moment we are a little busy with work, renovating, building a food van and the usual home life. We haven’t had the time to do all the things we’d like to do around our home and garden and we are in need of some extra help. We both love to socialise and happy to welcome you into our home as part of our family. We are very easy going people.

Accomodation
Our home is a two storey cottage with an attic on an elevated and hilly two and a half acres of land, which needs some work inside and outside. Our animals include dogs, cats, a Corella bird, 2 sheep and 1 alpaca. A love for animals would be advantageous as we have many. Free Wi fi is also available.

Food (vegan mainly) will be provided as well as accomodation. There is no smoking indoors.

Jobs
We are looking for help with jobs around the house and outside, some renovating, painting, building, gardening, cleaning, and helping with whatever is required.

We are flexible as to work hours and days. But generally you will work a 5 hour day and have two days off per week which is negotiable.

It would be good if you had some previous experience in the above jobs or you can easily follow instructions and work independently.

Location
Our property is situated in Mia Mia which is in central Victoria, it is a small rural town, 45 minutes from the city of Bendigo, and just over an hour from Melbourne. Shopping is in historic and popular town of Kyneton (20 min drive), or Heathcote (15min drive) or Bendigo. We live in a wine growing region with many wineries and breweries. We have views of Mt Alexander and Bendigo region from our deck and on top of the hill. There are plenty of kangaroos around, the occasional echidna and possums. Down the road about 4 km away is the town of Redesdale which has a lovely blue stone pub (our local pub), a petrol station, a cafe and art gallery.

Having your own transport (car or motorbike) would be an advantage as there is no public transport in Mia Mia.

If you think our home will suit you, please contact us as we would love to hear from you and work with you on our next project. We look forward to hosting you.
Steph and Dave.

reviews (8)
Helper: Marcel Longo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: January 31, 2019
What a lovely Family! I really enjoyed every single at this place. They gav... view complete review

Helper: Justine and Iris Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: December 15, 2018
We stayed 5 days in this lovely family. We had to paint and clean the house. ... view complete review

Helper: Nadege and Fanchon Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: January 6, 2018
We stayed 3 weeks with Steph and Dave and their family and it was a very goo... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Fengyan GUO Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: January 3, 2018
Sorry for this late feedback since I just went back to China in Dec. I staye... view complete review

Helper: Camille and Anthony Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 17, 2015
We are stayed 2 weeks with steph and dave. We have really appreciated our sta... view complete review

Helper: Charlotte and Paul Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: February 17, 2015
Paul, Pauline and me are stay for 10 days only, but this family is really awe... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Florent and Kevin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 24, 2014
We spent 3 weeks at Dave and Steph place. The only thing we did was painting ... view complete review

Helper: Christina and Elliott Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 31, 2014
Staying with Dave and Steph has been the highlight of our trip, they welcomed... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use