help exchange   Host 25939
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Natural Bridge
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: depends on needs
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25939
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 16, 2019

We live on a rural property with three houses, and we're working towards becoming a small homeschooling community. We have 8 adults and 5 children living here, in 3 houses. Some of our interests are: learning to live in community together, growing food, native bush regeneration, learning to home educate our children, peaceful parenting, self development, and compassionate communication.

We regularly host volunteers who help us with gardening, watering, tree planting, land care, cleaning, child care, and lots of other projects. We're often looking for child care for a three year old boy and an 18 month old girl :)

If you have marketing skills, we'd also be interested to see if you could help develop us a local market for our native fruit jam :)

We`re in the beautiful Numinbah Valley near the Gold Coast, a half hour drive from Nerang train station, and half an hour from Murwillumbah bus station. The property is very scenic, in a valley between two national parks, with dams, a creek, a waterhole for swimming and lots of wildlife. We are about 2km from the Natural Bridge section of Springbrook national park, which has a cave with a waterfall, and glow worms at night. If you are interested in intentional communities, we're happy to share with you about our experiences, processes and insights. We are a work in progress though, so please don't expect to find all the answers here! Living in community takes a lot of learning.

Activity here ebbs and flows, with some quiet family times and other times with visitors or community events. Every two months we have a camping gathering on the creek flat, with up to 50 people. Your days off can be spent bushwalking, swimming, or visiting local towns, attractions and national parks. There`s no local public transport but there is always someone coming or going, so we are happy to help you get around on your days off.

When new helpers arrive, we spend the first few days getting to know each other and make sure it is a good fit for everyone. After this, we prefer helpers to stay with us for two weeks or longer, as we find this leads to a better experience.

We prefer non smokers, but smoking is ok so long as it is away from the houses, and butts are disposed of thoughtfully.

We ask that you help out 4 hours a day if the work is hard, like digging, or 5 hours if it's easier, 5 days a week. But we're happy to talk about different arrangements if you prefer :) We try to match the work with your skills and interests if possible. We value helpers who are proactive, enjoy contributing, and know how to get things done. It's important to us that you feel it's a fair exchange and have a great experience during your stay :) If you have particular needs or circumstances, please let us know before you arrive so that we can be sure we can accommodate you.

We provide all your food, but not treats or alcohol (we are happy to pick them up for you though). We have a community meal about once a week, others are family meals or self serve. We can cater to most diets as long as you are happy to share a kitchen with people with other diets! Accommodation is your own room, either in one of the houses, or in a separate 'mining camp' accommodation block. Wherever you stay, you will have access to a kitchen, living room and bathroom, and a covered outdoor area to relax in. Optus and Telstra work here but Vodafone does not. We have mobile wifi, available for moderate use.

We are trialling two different volunteer models at the moment. You have the normal option to help out 20-25 hours a week, and we feed you; or, you can pay $70 per week towards food costs, and help out 12-15 hours a week instead. These options help us to host more helpers, and make it more financially sustainable :)

Our helpers usually love their time here, and want to stay longer.

reviews (9)
Helper: Merrie Tucker Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: September 3, 2018
I stayed 3 months at this beautiful community, i genuinely had the most amazi... view complete review

Helper: Daniela and macarena Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Chile Date: August 3, 2018
Hi Famunity! Sorry for writing late, as you know we were having a lot of expe... view complete review

Helper: Guillaume Fenski Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 3, 2018
I stayed 4 weeks there and I loved it so much!! The place is beautiful, and I... view complete review

Helper: David Horsch Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 6, 2017
Better late than never, sorry for the late review! This was another great ... view complete review

Helper: Carol Renard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 3, 2017
Hello everyone, I had a good time with all the community ! The valley i... view complete review

Helper: Akhilesh Bhavanam Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: India Date: October 16, 2017
Hi Gregor and Andrea sorry for the late review was busy. I would love to shar... view complete review

Helper: Cassian Humphreys Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: August 20, 2017
I loved my 2 week stay with Gregor & Andrea, though we had little contact as ... view complete review

Helper: Elin and Caryl Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 1, 2017
We had an amazing two weeks at Gregor and Andrea's home. We had a variation o... view complete review

Helper: Sarah and Harry Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 5, 2015
We spent a week and half at the beautiful Natural Bridge farm with Danielle a... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use