help exchange   Host 25963
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Duncan
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.7 acres
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25963
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 12, 2014

I live on a wooded acreage on the Cowichan River, next to a forest, in the only corner of Canada to be free of snow and freezing temperatures in January. I have a spare bedroom with a large, comfortable bed. I need help as I am recovering from the death of my only child and a mastectomy just over a year ago. I need someone who will help with cooking supper and make their own lunch; help me with household chores; and do some outdoor work such as digging, weeding and planting. I also need some heavy-duty digging of steps on a steep path down to the river, and possibly some woodcutting with my chainsaw.

I would expect 4 or 5 hours a day of work, 5 days a week, with weekends off. I don't smoke, so would like you to be non-smokers.

I would like to try this out for perhaps a month starting in April, and then see how it goes for possibly a longer period. I am an older woman, getting arthritis, and am congenial. I have taught ESL and would be happy to help you learn English. I go to town every day where I meet with a very congenial group of friends at a coffee house, and you could get a ride in with me if you like and get to know my friends, many of whom are musicians. I also have a bike you could borrow. I would be open to showing you some of this beautiful valley (Cowichan Valley, 60 miles north of Victoria) on weekends.

reviews (1)
Helper: Caroline and Arnaud Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 12, 2014
Thank you Susan for your hospitality ! We have spent 5 wonderful weeks with y... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use