help exchange   Host 26146
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Parry Sound
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3000 sq feet
Persons: 1-2
Category: Other
Host ID: 26146
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 9, 2020

Currently we do not need helpers.

Sorry, NO helpers needed from April to December as I rent out my bedrooms to summer workers in our area.. Only looking for helpers from January to March 2021

Languages spoken: English, French, Spanish, Japanese

Used book store with over 120,000 used books requires helpers/volunteers to sort, repair, clean, price and put books on shelves.

Other tasks include cleaning floors, windows, dusting, changing window displays, helping customers find books, reading to children, finding books and tidying books on shelves

Helpers would work about 4-6 hours a day. Also, they would be responsible for making the evening meal - homemade soup or stew, salads, BBQ, etc. Doing the dishes is also needed.

I also need help at home - cut the grass, weed the garden, walk the dog, go grocery shopping or do light housecleaning for me as I work at the bookstore 9 hours a day!

Winter requires help to shovel snow at home and at the store - this is sometimes the biggest need in winter. Be aware that it can be very cold here in the winter. -30 degrees Celsius is about the coldest temperature, although the windchill can make it feel colder. Usual daytime temperatures are around -10 degrees Celsius, but it feels warmer if it is sunny. This year we already have almost 3 metres of snow! It is great for skiing and snowshoeing!

I have also recently become a mom after the death of a friend of mine. Her 8 year old daughter, Emily, is now living with me and would love to "talk your ear off", go biking with you and read some books together or do some arts and crafts.

Homestay is at my home, a 100 year old house (with some really funky old wallpaper that really needs someone to peel it all off!) which is in the process of being renovated. New bathroom is complete and wallpaper has been peeled in the stairwell and upstairs hallway.

My house is just 2 blocks from the bookstore, Main Street and Downtown Area of this 6,000 person small town.

We are located in the beautiful UNESCO Georgian Bay World Biosphere Reserve 2.5 hours north of Toronto on the shores of Georgian Bay.

2 small bedrooms (one single bed, one double bed) with dressers, window and heater. Bed sheets are provided. Helpers are responsible for purchasing and preparing their own lunches as I am never home for lunch, or are free to eat leftovers from the supper meal the night before. Breakfast and supper provided by the host. Laundry machines available to use. Hammock and chairs on front porch in summer for eating, relaxing and reading. Public library with Wi-Fi, central park, and post office only 3 buildings away from house.

Note: Dog on premises - Sophie the Golden Retriever is waiting to be your friend. See the photo.

Beaches, walking trails only minutes away. Cruise the 30,000 Islands on beautiful Georgian Bay in summer and fall. Canoe, kayak, swim, sail, camp, hike... if you love the outdoors, this is the place to be! Winter fishing, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing all easy to do here.

I have a TV but no programs to watch - you can rent DVDs from the store just down the street, or borrow some from the library. We could also do a language exchange - I teach you, you teach me.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use