help exchange   Host 26257
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 600 acres
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26257
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 27, 2019

Hi there,
Come and experience community living, surrounded by farm land and endless pristine forests. Moora moora co-operative community is on top of our own mountain! We are 1 1/2hrs drive from the center of Melbourne, we have 30 homes on 600 acres above the Yarra Valley where there are countless wineries , markets, cycling, hiking, fishing and swimming opportunities- even snow for tobogganing in winter!
15 minute drive from nearest public transportation where I can pick you up in Yara Junction or Healesville if you don't have a car... a car is an advantage especially if you are a couple as I only have one spare car seat, however, I can organize lifts with other community members.
I am a single parent with two beautiful boys 9and 7and little girl now 5, chooks, and a milking goat. We eat mostly organic/ biodynamic wholesome food. Our house is completely off the grid, you have to light the fire for heat and hot water, solar power, tank water and only optus mobile reception. I do have plenty of books! I am happy to host families with children and we are LGBTI friendly :)
I would like help with:
Renovations...plastering, plumbing, painting, rendering and moving into our new house here on the community once renovations are done.
Baisic household tasks-dishes, cooking, washing
Spring cleaning our home
Planting our veggie patch
Various community workdays and events-we have a music festival here in November!earthartbeat festival.
gardening, firewood, preparing for the fire season, numerous odd jobs... carpentry, plastering, painting, fencing and possibly with childcare if suitable .....there is plenty to do! Hours and inclusion of meals can be negotiated and flexible.
There is also the opportunity to meet and work for other community members.
Accommodation is a simple, warm spare room in house with double bed.

We are looking for someone who is EASY GOING, independent, happy to live in a busy house with 3 young kids and HELPFUL.
Our last helpx couple loved it so much here they came for two weeks and stayed for over 3 months! They became great friends and part of the family.
I cannot sign a second year working visa.

Look forward to hearing from you
Carmen and Kids

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use