help exchange   Host 26263
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26263
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 21, 2019

Hello! I'm Bobby, a young Scottish guy who recently bought a farmhouse just outside Limoges. It's a really big exciting project however it would be slightly daunting to face on my own, so I need your help!

The farmhouse is located in a very beautiful rural area with a few other houses and farms scattered nearby. There are towns and villages with popular beach lakes, plus it's a 30 minute drive to Limoges city centre so it is peaceful but easily escaped when necessary. The property consists of just over 2 acres of garden/field, a renovated ex sheepfold (which is now a bedroom/living area), the main house plus a ruin (which is currently half a wall). So yeah jobs are hugely variable - it's basically a complete renovation. If you have some skills that's awesome but the most important thing is a positive attitude and a good sense of humour.

To name a few jobs - General tidying, wall building, knocking through walls, plasterboarding, flooring, gardening/landscaping, painting/decorating, restoring old furniture, fencing, building poly tunnels etc etc. Basically the place needs turning into a home. You may also be required to occasionally help the couple I work for as well as my parents who live in a nearby town.

As I work most week days for a local builder I'm looking for a group that are happy to get stuck in while I'm away, when i'm working I'll be back just after 5. Having done a lot of helpxing myself I think I have a rough idea about the kind of things that will make your stay enjoyable. I ask for 5 hours a day with free weekends plus help with communal jobs like cooking/cleaning in exchange for hearty meals, music, cheap wine/beer and regular outings. I'm a vegetarian but if you need meat you can always pick some up when we go shopping.

*** I move in at the end of February and have a few things to organise before I host (wood burners, beds, wifi and an electrician) so I can only really give rough dates for now but it'll most likely be mid - late March.

I haven't got any Helpx references yet as I haven't hosted anybody, but here's a link to my Couchsurfing profile above.

So thanks for reading my profile and let me know if you have any questions. Enjoy your travels!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use