help exchange   Host 26353
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26353
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 21, 2020

We've been part of Helpx for several years now and have met some wonderful people, many of whom we still keep in touch with.

We live in York, in the north of England, where we have a garden and (a 10 minute walk away) an allotment where we grow fruit and vegetables.

We try to cultivate using the `no-dig` method and like to re-use and recycle wherever possible.

Our house has solar panels on the roof for water and electricity as we are keen to reduce our impact on the environment.

The work includes turning and spreading compost, making new beds and paths, weeding, seed sowing, planting out, grass cutting and fence painting.

From early summer, fruit and vegetables are ready to be harvested and prepared for freezing and conserving.
If the weather is bad then there are always jobs to get on with in the house, garage and greenhouse.

We can offer all meals, laundry and accommodation, (own bathroom) in return for a helping hand, usually around 4-5 hours a day, 5/6 days a week, or equivalent, although we're very flexible when it comes to fitting in trips and visits.

Non smokers only.

We usually only have people for short stays, between 1-2 weeks.

We are situated 2km from the centre of the historic city of York.
Easy links for bus and rail connections to London (2 hours), Yorkshire coast, Dales and North York Moors.

Do get in touch and ask anything else you'd like to know.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use