help exchange   Host 26430
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


South Devon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26430
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 11, 2019

Looking for help from 1st December 2019

We live by the sea in Devon, in the South West of England, half an hour from the wonderful Dartmoor National Park, 25 minutes from the beautiful city of Exeter. The nearest train station with trains to London every couple of hours is just a short walk away.

We live 5 minutes walk away from the beach and harbour.

We're actually in the process of moving just around the corner, so need help packing, cleaning, maybe some decorating.....

In exchange for about 4.5 hours work a day, 5-6 days a week, you will have accomodation, decent wifi and all meals, including a packed lunch if you are going out for the day. We eat a vegan diet (no meat, diary or eggs). It would be great if you are vegan too, but of course that's not a requirement! We'll give you plenty of tips to help you cook and enjoy vegan food ;)

The work hours you are required to do need to be flexible around the family - depending what needs doing that day - but ideally if you could help prepare and cook simple evening meals, and do an hour or two other work, working on your own, that's great. It is usual to just see what needs doing and lend a hand, walking the dog or helping in the workshop, the rest of the time is yours to go and do whatever you like.

We would also currently like to hear from people with practical skills like decorating and general house maintenance.

You will have lots of opportunities to go out on your own and explore - I'm usually busy with the business, and although we love walking, and being in the outdoors, in school term-time aside from dog walks, we don't have lots of time to show you the sights - so it's really a case of exploring for yourself - we have lots of maps and information you can use! In addition there will be one or two full days off per week for independent activities and travel. Equally helpXers who have stayed with us before have had work and studies to do, and have found it easy to find the time and headspace to get on in their own room in their free time.

Anyone coming to stay with us should be easy going, down to earth and totally happy to muck in. You also need to be happy to work on your own or help out as things go along.

You'll need to be relaxed, but mature and responsible, and happy to fit into and become part of our family. The kids are 2 polite, happy, open people, curious about the world and different cultures. We are a family though, so we are often rushing about, can be a bit noisy and chaos can happen! You will need to like being around teenagers, a VERY bouncy dog.

This is not a placement for someone who craves peace and quiet (we are a noisy lot and our little house is pretty open plan and in a touristy area) - but equally it's not for someone who is wanting a hugely social time - we're in a small seaside town (not big city life) where not a huge amount happens, although there are plenty of community events, a small theatre and lots of things happening in the harbour in the summer.

References really are essential. Sorry - without references or a photo, it's impossible to assess your application to come to stay with us.

Please note the feedback here is from helpxers who stayed with us in Sussex, we have recently moved to our new home by the sea in South Devon.

reviews (8)
Helper: Arisa Ui Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: April 7, 2019
I spent Kate's family for two weeks. I was really lucky a peren to be able t... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Gloria Harrison Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: February 2, 2019
I have just spent almost a month with Kate, Oli, Tom and Caspar (🐕 ).... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Lenka Tomsova Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Czech Republic Date: January 26, 2017
Always when I am leaving Kate and her family I left a part of my heart with t... view complete review

Helper: Lenka Tomsova Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Czech Republic Date: April 21, 2016
I lived with Kate and her family for more then six months; three months in We... view complete review

Helper: Doris Schatzmann Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: July 21, 2015
I stayed with Kate and her children for five weeks in June/July 2015. They li... view complete review

Helper: Amelie Lutz Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 14, 2015
I stayed with Kate for a few weeks in March/April 2015 and am really really h... view complete review

Helper: Amos Hausman-Rogers Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: December 18, 2014
I stayed with Kate in Rogate, West Sussex for a week and a few days in 2014, ... view complete review

Helper: Xing-jia and Li-jing Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: February 15, 2014
We stayed with Kate's family for 2 weeks. Kate is a busy but warm mother. Bec... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use