help exchange   Host 26531
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1, or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26531
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 20, 2020

About us:

I live on a small 5 acre lifestyle block, 48 km South of Auckland CBD, that is also home to one horse, two small dogs, cat, a couple of free-range hens and a rooster!

Helpers are welcome for short stays of approximately ONE WEEK, and mature, practical-minded people with a few years life experience are preferred. None of the jobs are difficult but do require a reasonable level of fitness and you need to be able to work independently. Non-smokers only please.

Some amazing helpx helpers have helped establish the kitchen gardens and some help is now needed on general gardens and landscaping. Depending on the time of the year, some of the tasks you may be asked to help with are: lawn mowing, planting trees, weeding and mulching garden beds, grubbing thistles, paddock weeds and brush-cutting (strimming/weed-eating).

You will have a very comfortable room with your own bathroom in exchange for 4 hours work per person each day, however I can be flexible with this, for example I am happy if you want to work a full day to take a day off for sight-seeing.

I don't eat a lot of meat and am happy to host vegetarians. All food is provided. Breakfast and lunch is usually 'help yourself' and evening meals will be cooked for you, but if you enjoy cooking I am always happy for you to cook and share some of your favourite dishes. Please advise of any dietary requirements when you first inquire.

Bombay is a quiet rural village and our nearest town is Pukekohe which is a 15 minute drive away, so having your own car is an advantage, but is not necessary. Auckland is easily accessible via trains/buses from Pukekohe or Bombay and I am happy provide lifts into Pukekohe when possible.

If you have a vehicle you can visit all the local attractions which include waterfalls, bush walking/hiking, glow worm caves, Miranda Hot Pools, beaches, a lighthouse with fabulous views, wineries and a local cheese maker.

Wifi is NOT available, due to being rural, BUT there is excellent cellphone coverage if you have mobile data on your own phone. Pukekohe has free wifi hotspots, as does the Library.

I look forward to hearing from you and sharing our little piece of paradise!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use