help exchange   Host 26609
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26609
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 4, 2019

We are a family with wide and close network of friends around. We see ourselves as a part of nature and this can be seen and felt pretty much in our everyday life. Weīre heading into more communal life and to create ecological community-sustainability, meaning together we can create good life.

We live simple life in a natural environment. Permaculture, sharing, wood, fire, natural materials, good food, gardening and collecting wild food. Yet we have smartphones, cars and we also work independently outside in our own companies. Malla is a doula and a natural childbirth educator, relaxation coach and a creativity guide working with womanīs natural instincts. Jarno is a eco-builder and a chimney sweeper. Our child Hilla is really lovely and 3 years old now. We all love music and spending most of our time outdoors.

Weīre expanding our gardens to grow more food and renovating the house and other buildings. 2013 we took over a farm that was uninhibited for 20 years - which means endless possibilities and a lot of interesting work :D

We take only helpers who are truly interested in living this kind of life and are willing and capable to stay at least 2 months (or more). This way you also get into whatīs going on and share life with us.

We make our own food as much as possible: growing vegetables, collect wild herbs and berries, fishing, we have chicken for eggs and sheep for wool and meat and of course all these animals are our dear friends as well. We eat mostly vegetarian/vegan food, and always what is available at each season. All this is something we really like to do. It is work too, but it doesnīt feel like work. We like to work less for money and more for sustaining life itself.

We see this place as a community, so whenever we have some people, guests, helpers, friends, relatives, whoever, they are at that moment part of our community. We like to share. This means as much sharing the practicalities as much as how are you feeling today, what are your needs today, what would you like to bring to the community today, what is important for you today and rest and fun. We have a talking circle regularly to sit down and share and really to listen others. In the circle everyone is equal and appreciated as they are.

This place is open for new people to come and start living here as well as people who are on their way somewhere else but would like to share a piece of their life here. Sharing is the key!

We respect your needs too and you are important for us. We like to get to know you. We expect everyone whoīs staying here to participate our daily tasks like cooking and dish washing. We share duties and fun and rest, so that everybody feels good and appreciated. When you come here as a helper, we expect youīd like to learn about this kind of lifestyle. You can do different tasks that are part of the life here. Living even partly self sufficient life and increasing the level of it, is sometimes a lot of work. A big part of it is physical work. Everyone takes responsibility - helpers and us. You are welcome as you are!

We have many gardening-jobs, natural eco building/renovating, taking care of animals, participating in taking care of our lovely three year old dotter - itīs good if you like to be with children. Sometimes it can be going into the forest with us and picking berries, sometimes haywire or chopping wood. Many things. You tell us what inspires you!

We are pretty flexible with working time, which means we donīt count your hours, but we expect you to take part to the household duties as any familymember would. We donīt work on Sundays, on Saturdays we might, but usually itīs something more fun on weekends :D Whatīs important is the good flow and energy.

Also if youīd like to take a weekend off and go somewhere thatīs ok for us and there are several nice nature spots on a biking distance where one could camp for free and there is firewood and shelter and nice lakes. Also itīs fairly easy to get to town from here.

One or both of us speak following languages:
Suomi, english, svenska, espanol, portuques

Here one can sleep for example in a tipi or a tent, maybe a cozy attic of a barn or hammock. There is a room, which we call the quest&laundry room&office, where one can sleep too (but also the mentioned tasks happen in this room).

This place is in nature. We have a canoe in the lake very close by. You can go canoing, fishing, swimming, walking in the forrest, use internet, pick wild hebs or berries, lie in a hammock, read books, socialize with us and maybe other people that are here at the same time, take a bike and ride to close by villages or towns, go camping in the weekend, join us whenever we go somewhere and meet new friends and explore new places.... There is no public transport here. We will pick you up when you come and take you back when you leave and you can easily go with us to town if you need to. Fiskars art-village is just 15km away and Tammisaari 18km (very nice bike ride to both).

Life is simple here. We donīt have a shower, but we have a lake for swimming and a sauna that we normally heat up twice a week. Only outhouse-toilet. We hope you respect our nature and donīt bring chemicals here, such as chemical shampoo, deodorants, parfymes, aftershaves, and chemical sun blocks. We will provide you with natural soaps and shampoos. If there is any cosmetics you need, there is a natural shop in a town close by that has it all. No smokers. We have fresh drinking water from our own ground, clean fresh food, peace and nature and a lot of blueberries in the forest!

Anyway prepare for a lot of outdoor life, learning new things, simplicity, silence, nature, good sauna, expressing yourself, rain and mud, sun and hot, and a good wool jumper and socks for cold :D

You could learn how to live simple life pretty much not knowing the time or the day of the week - working in to the rhythm of nature. Permacultural skills, ecobuilding and extraordinary gardening skills, how to take care of animals, Finnish of course and knowing a lot of wild food and how to find and preserve it.

For us itīs important to share life with the you on a friendly family-level and weīve become friend with many. We have 3 years experience of this with very good experiences :D

Nature and simplicity is here, if you want to dive deeper into how to live closer to the nature - tell us more about yourself!

Back to Top
Copyright Đ 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use