help exchange   Host 26615
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Co Cork
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26615
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 1, 2016

A couple of households on a few acres...

We aim to be as self sufficient as possible with vegetables and fruits - large kitchen garden, polytunnel etc - and to nurture and care for this beautiful piece of land in West Cork.
I have also been planting many trees, mostly native but other interesting specimens too [legacy of many years working in a tree nursery/garden centre]. I still put a few more in the ground every year ['property tax', I call it] aiming to turn the marginal areas into mini woods and wildlife havens over the years. plus a few bits of flowers and prettiness here and there...
Unfortunately a couple of these areas have become somewhat neglected over the last couple of years, as my focus has shifted to other things... so this Easter [early April] I'm going to have a Big Tidy. I'm looking for helpx assistance, particularly from 28th March-12th April as I have time off at this point. I may be able to host volunteers at other times, but might not always be free to work with you.
I'm looking for hard working but fun loving people.. ideally with some practical skills like being able to use a strimmer, root out brambles, clear around trees, general weeding and tidying, plus probably a bit in the veg garden. Turning vegetables into delicious meals [or helping to do so] is also a part of the life here. Food is vegetarian.

About me: I'm a local Yoga and Acroyoga teacher, so I'm often out doing this [tho planning time off in April, as mentioned above] Volunteers are welcome to come along to classes free of charge! As well as yoga, I enjoy various other sports and activities - cycling, hiking, acrobatics, slackline...
I also play traditional Irish music every wednesday in the local bar, plus other bits and pieces.. musicians most welcome!
We are located in a beautiful part of Ireland, 2.5 miles from an interesting village with lots of great pubs and restaurants. there is a lake for swimming [I usually start around May but I'm not as hardy as I once was!] a river at the bottom of the field, great hiking/cycling area..
Accomm - own room in cosy eco-house. I usually only host for 1-2 weeks max... would suit couple or 2 friends travelling around, who want to explore the area but not needing a long term placement. Even short visits [2 or 3 days] work for me, if I'm around at the time!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use