help exchange   Host 26648
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


County Galway
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26648
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 8, 2019

I am looking for people,(a couple would be ideal) to help with outside work such as gardening but also cutting and stacking firewood etc. Would suit a young energetic couple, maybe who also want to practice their English.


I am situated in Connemara about 30 miles West of Galway at the head of Kilkieren Bay. The area is very beautiful and surrounded by lakes and mountains. The sea is about 10 minutes walk away and there are beautiful beaches within 5 miles. It can be very wet and windy but wonderful too in fine weather. I only have about 1/2 acre of land but my object is self sufficency. I have a large vegetable garden that is still being developed. I am also a beekeeper with currently four hives. There are young fruit trees some not bearing yet. I have some solar energy systems, mostly home made and installed which produces enough electricity to light a workshop and office. There is also solar water heating. As I am retired from the corporate world but very fit and healthy there is always a great deal to do with various projects on the go most days. I am also a woodworker and wood turner, making my own beehives and some for sale. In the summer I sell wooden items at a farmers market Anyone who is interested in the country life and practical things should love it here. Future projects for this summer and autumn include:-
Extensions to the vegetable garden.
Weeding the garden and clearing pathways.
Pathways and grass clearing around the beehives
cutting and stacking of firewood for winter.

Well!! It goes on and on. That's enough for now!
The photos below show:-
1. The house
2. View from the hilltop behind the house.
3. The waterfall in the forest - 30 minutes walk. And Yes! You can drink it!
4. Honey processing 2013.
5. Vegetable garden and polytunnels
6. My workshop.

I am looking for a young couple or singles who want to help with this in exchange for board and lodging. If you are interested log on to Couchsurfing and see my profile.

https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/richardcolson

There is a lot more about me here.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use