help exchange   Host 26712
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Voglans
All Year: 15/05 to 15/09/2019
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26712
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 19, 2019

Hello !

We are a young couple (33 and 35). We are IT and civil engineer. We like playing and listening music, sciences, being outside and having fun. We are easy going, no special food diet (tolerant vegetarian welcome). We traveled a year in Australia and 6 months around the world, and we were helpers too! We like to speak English. We don't have any pets. Annabelle love cooking and nature; and Sebastien love computers, photography and handy-works.


About our project:
We bought a small land (1 ha) this year. It is situated in “La chapelle du mont du chat” in the mountain (altitude 900m) : https://goo.gl/maps/n7G9K6uSAFA2
We are living in Voglans down in the valley: https://goo.gl/maps/MsrFg37M4Bm
There is 20 minutes driving between the 2 places.
Our project is to build a wooden house on the land. We are working on the plans but the size will be around 20 meters square.
We will provide all the tools and materials needed.
We can provide water, food, tent and everything needed to live on the land. But, be aware, it will be camping and not big luxury.
However, when it is raining you can come down the valley to live and sleep home.


About you:
We are looking between 1 and 4 people to build a wooden house. We are looking for motivated, autonomous and handy people. You have to be carpenter or at least having experience in building wooden houses.

The working time schedule will be very flexible if you want day-off no problem. We encourage you to visit the area!

We are working during the week so we will not being able to work with you. You will be on your own (we will show you the plans but you have to be a little bit self-ruling and take initiatives).
Ideal period of stay: 1 month to build the wooden house and as long as you want afterwards to enjoy it and live in it (until winter I guess !-).

Must speak and understand a minimum of English or French.

Building skills are welcome!
Handy people are welcome!


About the area:
We are living in Voglans small city in the suburb of Chambery.
Chambery is in French Alpes Mountains. Lively, friendly, a great place both to visit and to stay, with lot of activities to do in the area:
- All the time: Nature, outdoors activities, bike tracks (flat and steep), walking trails, summits, cheese factories, wineries, history museums, etc…
- In winter: Ski, Cross-country skiing, snowshoes, etc…
- In summer (we are 1.5km away from “Bourget lake”): swimming, sailing, beaches, climbing, walking…
You can go around by bus. We can find you a bike too (there are bike paths).

Buses are coming from and to the closest city named Chambery (10 kilometers away) and Aix-les-Bains (10 kilometers in the other way). During winter, we have an international airport (Chambery) close to the house. You can also come by train to Chambery train station (with http://www.voyages-sncf.com ) or with car sharing (blablacar for exemple http://www.blablacar.com or http://www.covoiturage.fr ). We live 10 minutes driving from Chambery and 1 hour from Lyon.

4 years ago we had few helpers coming from England, Canada, Spain, China, Singapore, Netherlands, Germany, Australia,… ! Everyone enjoyed the experience, we hope it will continue!


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use