help exchange   Host 26994
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Darkan
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2400
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26994
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 29, 2020

Due to COVID19 restrictions, and the WA hard border, we can only offer a HelpX exchange to travelers who are currently in Western Australia.

We are looking for a helper or helpers from mid August to mid September to help with lamb tailing and ewe crutching. The tasks would mainly be with moving animals or giving them medicine. If you're very strong, then picking up lambs would also be a task you could help us with too.

Training will be provided to any enthusiastic helper not afraid of manual labour.

We welcome all such helpers during this very busy time on our family run farm, which is located 2 1/2 hours South of Perth.

We have ~10 000 sheep and 750ha of crops. Our four very friendly sheep dogs work with us, but they're not able to do all jobs, no matter how willing they are :D

If you`re fit, practical and don`t mind getting your hands dirty, we`d welcome your company. In exchange we will provide free food and accommodation, pleasant hosts and a real Australian farm experience.

See the list of main jobs for each month at the end of our listing. However, it`s normally quite mixed with other jobs like fencing, machinery maintenance and sheep work scattered throughout.

Our farm is close to the small town of Darkan, with ~ 800 residents in the local area and opportunities for our helpers to meet and socialise with other locals. There is public transport to the nearby town of Williams or locality of Arthur River by TransWA Bus(Perth-Albany) where we can arrange to pick up visitors.

We are looking for enthusiastic helper(s) who can speak enough English to prevent confusion and are happy to help us around the farm/home. We enjoy cultural and social exchange with all our guests, helpx, family and friends alike. That is, its not all work at our place :)

Our two youngest children (aged 19 and 21) are at university in Perth, with our youngest working on the farm and studying remotely.

We hope to make your stay pleasant and will share our home with you.

Feel free to contact us via email or SMS for more details.


Farm task Month
Sheep feeding Dec-June
Shearing Feb
Fertiliser spreading Mar-Apr; Jul
Seeding Apr/May
Lamb marking Jul/Aug/Sep
Rock picking Jun-Aug
Spraying Jul/Aug
Shearing Sep/ Oct
Lamb weaning Oct/Nov
Hay cutting/rolling Oct/Nov
Harvest Dec - Jan

Photos:
1. Harvesting canola
2. Mustering sheep
3. Crop, pasture and revegetation project
4. Bali sunset 2016
5. Ironman sculpture doubling as letter box! (front drive)
6. summer`s day 2014

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use