help exchange   Host 27018
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Denman Island
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3 acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27018
Region: BC, Islands

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 20, 2019

I live off-grid in a 240 sq ft handbuilt caravan. I am practicing sustainability thru permaculture. my farm garden is beyond organic, relying on natures synergy. It is my dream to be fully self sufficient in food and herbs. also in the dream-works are an outdoor summer kitchen, a solar oven, a solar water heater for the caravan, solar/wood heated outdoor shower and bathtub , a bicycle powered station for food grinding- and electricity production, more food forest which includes the polycultural food and medicinal garden, hoop house, composting toilet, coppiceable windbreaks, stone ridges for heat retention and dew harvesting, tool shed, earth plaster walls and more. You will sleep in a tent, or the living space of the caravan[ I sleep in the loft bed]- or vice versa. Bathing and toiletting are rustic/primitive. I have NO fridge or freezer. My diet is organic, omnivorous and sugar, milk and gluten free. I have chickens and ducks for eggs and meat. I will expect 12-15 hours work a week for room and board. you may also harvest and sell extras from the garden for a small income if you so desire.
Denman Island is a beautiful little art-filled island with many natural spaces to visit, all within bike-riding, hitching or hiking distance of my home. hornby and vancouver island are a short 10-20 minute ferry ride away.
Ideally I am looking for an intern who wants to learn to live an ecologically friendly lifestyle.
You must be interested in natural farm/gardening , permaculture, off-grid living, sustainability, alternative food preservation, or one of the projects listed above to stay on my farm. preference given to those who will stay longer to see the seasons progress in my holistic garden. The pictures are, a meal-all from the farm, my caravan, and me.
I am 58 AMAB queer anarchist. I work off the farm for 2 half days weekly. you would have plenty of personal time and space.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-wFHYjF8VwM&fbclid=IwAR25fz_bXVYH0MrVrh51UPHzpFfVEugcX1MfyL-zc71lM7-Ym2efFNx__BE this is a video of me and my house.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use