help exchange   Host 27178
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 13 hectares
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 27178
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 23, 2019

Hello from the South-West of France, beautiful Dordogne!

I'm Gilles, a dutch man who settled in this area more than 20 years ago. I am always looking for helping hands for our different projects:

Renovating an old traditional house (tiling, painting, woodwork...). Skills in building are very welcome.

2. Supporting our association that aims to provide more interactions for mentally handicapped people (raising money, crowdfunding , marketing, maintaining or updating our website made with Wordpress...). Note that you will not help with people with disabilities at this stage of the project.

3. Taking care of the animals of our farm (organic Iberic pigs, a few chickens and a friendly dog)

4. Processing food and delicatessen

Please have a look at our website to know more about who we are and what we do!
In details...
Our association named "les Bonnes Bouilles de Bouillac" aims to offer young adults with a mental handicap or learning disabilities a safe environment to live and work.

In preparation for the opening of our living space (2020), we are renovating an old stone-house.

We have built what you see on the picture from scratch (except a few old walls), and we are always looking for someone to pass by (longtime stay also possible).

We use traditional building methods and we are happy to impart some our skills to you. The house is built with much thought and consideration for the environment.

We have also an organic farm with special breed organic Gascon pigs, which we use to make the products we sell on a market every Saturday morning.

We would like to create 3 local markets (one is already running) run by young adults with a handicap or learning disability. These young adults will be/are selling home produced products (hams, sausages, patés,...), and meet people in a "buyer/seller" context, facilitates contact with others and gives them a boost to their self-esteem. We hope that those encounters will change the way we see them.

Alongside the pratical work we are looking for someone with computer and media skills to help our association with marketing and promotion (French language necessary).

We would really appreciate hosting somebody who likes restoration projects, household or farm work, someone who has a love for natural materials, tranquility, a rural location. A love of animals and an empathetic nature is also a big bonus. Preferably someone who can stay a few weeks to really carry their weight and who will fit into our little family.

All food, drink and accomodation (private room and bathroom usually) is taken care of and we have wi-fi, all be it one that has a mind of it`s own!

We are very relaxed and the hours are flexible (5 to 6 hours a day) around the weather and our family life.

You will have access to an (old) car, and may go around the local area with it.

We speak English, French, German and Dutch.

Please contact us with any questions you may have.
Best wishes,

PS : Possibilité de Service civique européen pour un jeune de moins de 25 ans issu de l'Union Européenne si profil adapté. N'hésitez pas à nous demander plus d'informations.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use