help exchange   Host 27283
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oamaru
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27283
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 6, 2020

WE USUALLY HOST FOR ONE WEEK, 10 DAYS, or 2 WEEKS. We are currently seeking epic HelpXers.

We live on an eco homestead in the heart of Oamaru--the coolest, funkiest town in New Zealand! There is a blossoming community of artists, musicians, and people with projects here. We are well known for our Victorian architecture and local colonies of penguins. Sophia first came here on a cycle tour in 2006 around the South Island and now lives here permanently--Oamaru is the kind of place you just want to stay! Marky grew up here, ventured the world and loved Oamaru so much he came home.

We own houses that are next door to each other and we are developing our dream of an eco homestead, and an eco-village eventually! Sophia works from home as a consultant, language teacher, garden builder and homemaker. She is currently completing a 10 month Permaculture Design Course and implementing permaculture projects on the ecohomestead. Marky is a handy man and gardener. Our flatmates on the homestead are: Carlos and Thalia, who are also passionate about permaculture. We have 3 family pets: Figo and Fia are sausage dogs & Giuseppe is a tabby cat.

We are looking for epic HelpX homesteaders to help with renovation projects around the house, dog sitting,dog walking, gardening, painting, cooking and odd jobs. We are always working on something different, so things never get boring! Building skills are a bonus but happy to share what I know if you're keen to learn. Creative people and artists are always welcome too-- we can find a project to suit your skill set! Daily duties include watering the garden, walking the dogs and often cooking. Everything else just varies by the day. Jam night is Fridays if you like to play music.

Accommodation is in the spare room at the eco homestead--we live in the centre of town beside the Botanic Gardens. We can provide you with a bicycle or long board on loan so you can get around town on wheels! We have animals, so if you are allergic BEWARE!

We usually share mainly vegetarian meals in the evening--if you cannot eat a vegetarian diet, we are probably not good hosts for you. We will provide breakfast & lunch also. We adore and appreciate amazing chefs!

We can provide internet, accommodation & meals in exchange for 5-6 hours of work every day. Work is primarily building, painting, gardening, composting, weeding, harvesting vegetables, beer brewing, making pasta, cooking, and odd jobs.

Languages: English, Maori, Spanish, Italian & basic French

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use