help exchange   Host 2734
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oliveira do Hospital
All Year:
Area (ha): 0,7
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Hospitality
Host ID: 2734
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 4, 2020

Hello, hello,

My name is Mieke and I am the happy and proud owner of a very beautifull, small and cozy campsite in Central Portugal.
I have 2 sons, Matte is 22 years old and already works and lives on his own. He comes to visit every 2 weeks, it is always nice to have him around. My youngest is Seth and he is 16 years old, a real puber but very good company, a funny, crazy kid.

Our family also consist a bunch of animals, almost all rescued and found. We have 3 dogs: Scooby, Lara and Poppy; 4 cats: Snowball, Cookie, Diabolo and Lucifer and 2 guinea pigs Moon and Punky. My animals are super friendly and social and they get very well along with each other.

I already live more then 23 years in Portugal and can not imagine to live somewere else. Portugal is a very beautifull country and the people are extreemly nice and friendly. I fell in love when I came on holidays and came to live here permanently a year later.

This region is very nice and interesting to visit and to explore. It is dominated by the “Serra da Estrela”, the highest mountain range of Portugal mainland (1996m). It is unique with its huge granite rocks and specatular views, ideal for a daytrip out or to go for a hike, to take a swim in the picturesque river beaches on a hot sunny day, to visit the many rustic mountain villages, …

I run the campsite mostly together with friends of mine, what helps a lot to create a very good atmosfere, we always have a lot of fun. This place is so much more then just my work, it is my life and I still love doing it very much.
This place is unique in many ways: the buildings in the big granit blocks, the colourfull gardens with many flowers, the mosaics, the animals, the nature arround us, the mountains, the good food, …
The type of work that needs to be done depends entirely on whether or not the campsite is open.

We start the 15th of March and stay open till the 15th of October.
Especially during the season it is all about recieving the guests: preparing good and tasty meals, helping in the bar, washing up, shopping, maintenance of the salt pool (low maintenance), watering the gardens and plants, some cleaning, doing laundry, ...
Running a campsite is almost like having a huge family that comes over to stay!
In low

Outside the season the work is more maintenance: gardening, painting, decorating, ....

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use