help exchange   Host 2754
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Hastings
All Year: From October 2018
Area (ha):
Persons: 1or2 fem. or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 2754
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 25, 2018

Alert!! Very long listing!
We are keen green recyclers living in a large edwardian house (1904) We have had wonderful helpXers since summer 07 but the house and garden always needs more work!

We would like you to come initially for 2 weeks, to work in the house and garden and also to help with young foreign students who stay with us while they study at language school nearby. We need you to do the tasks that we don't have time to get done ourselves! You will mostly work alone or with another helper; you will eat with us and mealtimes are when you can chat and improve your English.

Hastings is an interesting town with many free activities going on but if your main goal is to learn English then maybe this isn't the right place for you as we are very busy and you will need to be happy working alone; this is why we suggest coming with a friend or partner although female helpers are welcome to come alone! I want to explain this as we have received negative comments from some very young helpers for whom learning English was the main reason for coming here.


We ask HelpXers to work 25 hours each week. The times will vary; usually in the morning. As a couple or two friends you can work together and explore the area too.

We like to get to know our helpers before we agree to a long stay; come for one or two weeks to see how we get along... Please do not ask us to agree to a longer stay before we have met and worked with you for a trial period, let's find out if we get along first! Also if you are travelling from overseas why not visit two or more hosts?


Hastings is a large town by the sea, a couple of hours from London by train; an hour from Ashford International rail station; direct train from London Gatwick airport 1 1/2 hours; train from Newhaven for Dieppe boat; bus from Dover - takes a long time but it's possible!

The town has lots of free music, art, exhibitions etc and there's always the beach! We will be pleased to meet you and grateful for your help but we will expect you to entertain yourselves after work - there's lots to see, much of it free, so come and enjoy Hastings and East Sussex.

See www.1066online.com

We have been helpers ourselves in France and Spain so hopefully that experience makes us better hosts! We are vegetarian. You MUST be non-smoking. We have a small terrier dog who is very friendly with humans but will eat your socks!

We look forward to hearing from you.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use