help exchange   Host 27547
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Other
Host ID: 27547
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 21, 2017

!! We are full until the end of April 2018!!

!! We are already looking for a farmhelper/doghandler from August 2018 until May 2019,contact us for further informations !!

We have a small farm and tourism company at the Arctic Circle in Swedish Lapland.
At the moment we have sled dogs and chickens - funny combination :-)
The sled dogs are an important part of our daily life. We have usually 10-20 dogs, combination of 2-3 house dogs and working sled dogs.

Our goal on our farm is to live as self sufficient as possible, quite challenging at the Arctic Circle.

We grow vegetables like salad, tomatoes, potatoes, carrots and pumpkin in our garden. During summer and autumn we pick a lot of berries in the forest to make jam and we are buying meat from a local hunter, hunting on our own or slaughter self. We live at a big lake and rivers are close by, that´s where we get or fish from. If there is enough time we like to bake our own bread in a traditional bakehouse in the neighbor village.

In autumn and winter the focus is on the sled dogs – taking care of them and train them. We like to compete in long distance races.

Which projects we have during the summer 2017:
- Preparing the garden for the summer
- Building dog huts, repairing things in the kennel
- Making new fire wood for the next winter
- Painting house
- Gardening
- Repairing dog yards
- Making new fire wood for the next winter
- Setting up new dog yards
- Gardening
- Picking cloudberries, making jam
- Gardening
- Building and repairing
- Picking blueberries, making jam
- Repaint windows
- Picking lingonberries, making jam
- Gardening

Who we are:
We are two women originally from Germany, Johanna & Katharina, living in Northern Scandinavia since 2007.

Johanna worked as a bookseller in Germany and has an apprenticeship as a dress maker. She likes the “back to basic” life, specially the wool part - everything from shearing, carding and spinning yarn.

Katharina is an educated wilderness guide and loves to go on a trip with sled dogs.

What we expect from you:
You should be familiar with outdoor-work and to be able to work unsupervised.
A positive mind and flexibility makes everything easier and we will have
more fun together.

We are looking forward to hear from you, please contact us for more informations.

Johanna & Katharina

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use