help exchange   Host 27560
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kentucky
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27560
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 19, 2019

We farm 25 lovely acres located 15 minutes from a college town and plenty of stunning hiking, backpacking and caving opportunities. We have been on this land for 5 years and are working hard to love the land back to health and beauty. We are establishing fruit, food forests, orchards, rotation grazing systems, greenhouse, silvopasture, water retention systems, pasture renovation, gardens etc.

We raise dairy and beef cows, sheep, chickens, bees and a pig or two. We have a small shop on the farm where we sell our own products as well as the artisan products of other farmers. we are increasing our yarn production this year and hope to set up a bed and breakfast on the farm.

We raise and sell our raw milk and make yogurt, fresh cheese, and buttermilk. We sell beef, lamb, wool, pork, eggs and pastured poultry. Chickens and pigs are the only animals to receive non GMO grain.

We have a new 96x28 ft high tunnel and hope to include produce to the farm lineup and have begun work to see if a produce/poultry combination could work on our farm.

We work hard on the farm but take our leisure time just as seriously. We try to work from 7:30 until 5 weekdays with a long lunch and take the weekends off other than milking (once a day), and feed and water for the animals.

The farm is cleaned up and beautiful so we find ourselves in a time of just tweaking and making certain that our animals are cared for as they deserve!

reviews (5)
Helper: madison vassari Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 28, 2017
Debbie was generous to take me in and host me for my first HelpX experience. ... view complete review

Helper: Krista and Jamie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Latvia Date: October 16, 2017
Jamie and I are cycling across the States. We were meant to spend only a week... view complete review

Helper: Michele Farsi Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: March 27, 2016
Go to River Cottage Farm if you want to meet the best family of the United St... view complete review

Helper: Michael and Lois Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 27, 2015
Debbie and Family (Rhayna, Brayden, cats, dogs, chickens, ducks, cows, pigs, ... view complete review

Helper: Job N Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 17, 2015
I spent over a week back in September with Debbie and her son and had a great... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use