help exchange   Host 27927
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Yallourn North
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): n/a
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27927
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 16, 2017

I live on my own right now as my housemate Peter is in hospital after having suffered a bad stroke, so I need help at home here more than ever! His recovery will be a long process.

Before Peter became ill, I was renovating the house and unit that we own in this cute Gippsland Hills village of Yallourn North. It still needs lots of finishing...anything from landscaping / gardening to painting / minor carpentry repairs to de-cluttering.

However in 2015 I have decided to become both a host AND a helper myself with HelpX, so I will hopefully no doubt be doing a bit of juggling to organize various homestay bookings and other helper jobs. I still need to keep actively busy and I want to live life to the full.

Having just turned 66 I am no spring chicken...but then neither am I totally over the hill! I am mentally and physically agile and I always have some new project on the go, but I plan things so that jobs can be done in stages, to suit my own flexible lifestyle.

The property here looks over farmland but is an ordinary house block with a 3 bed cottage and a separate self contained unit behind it. Both buildings are having work done in January in preparation for renting one part of the property out, while I keep the other as my own home base.

Consequently a lot of packing up and de-cluttering has to be done, amidst the repair work and gardening.

The help that I need is not hard yakka and hopefully may be a fun rather than frenzied work activity for all of us, that still leaves us time to be able to get out and about. Gippsland is a large region and Yallourn North is a small town, in a delightful green, lush setting in the Latrobe Valley hills, close to lush state forests full of streams, wildlife and ferns.

Day trips could include historic mining towns like Walhalla, or visits to the lakes around Willow Grove and Erica, organic farms and wineries around Warragul through to Yarram, the beaches near Port Albert... with town visits to places like Traralgon, Leongatha and Wonthaggi all being within your reach. I am happy to show you everywhere in our free time, but I would need a shared contribution for petrol.

Your food will be covered, as part of the 4 hours per day that we can work together. We all cook together or you may cook your own if that suits you more. Smoking can only happen outside and alcohol use should be avoided or minimized. It goes without saying that any bongs and party drugs can be left elsewhere and far away...but apart from those restrictions, it is all pretty relaxed around here.

If you feel like getting out of the fast lane for a while, you would have a great working holiday here and I would welcome your company, your ideas and your help. I only speak English but am happy to help you improve yours, if you wish. Looking forward to hearing from you very soon. Cheers Libby.

reviews (1)
Helper: Lorelle and Alan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: October 10, 2014
Libby is a lovely lady, who is willing to share and give. The work was varied... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use