help exchange   Host 28225
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Granada
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5,000m2
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28225
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 12, 2019

I have been living in Andalucia 18yrs, with my son and 2 daughters. The eldest, who is now living and studying in Granada.

Having reformed our cortijo’, country house into rental properties, enclosed in a courtyard garden with pool.
I then moved our family ‘camping style’, onto the large piece of land opposite, separated by a concrete track.
I then set about building, creatively on a small budget, with help from friends and world wide exchange.
Using stones collected from the nearby riverbed, marble, slate and many recycled materials from skips etc.
over the years, it’s now a 4 bedroom family home with various outbuildings and dwellings:

A converted bus sits in the corner of this Olive grove, with its outside kitchen/living terrace area build under a roof.

Close along a short pathway is the coloured glass, bottle bathroom, then next to this is a large sauna, looking over wooden decking the relax space with its shower and changing room. The small splash pool, surounded by shrubs is also connected to this area.
There is also a small wooden casita, with a bathroom built on the side and an open fronted kitchen.

I would welcome some help with, reforming and maintaining the existing buildings.

We have recently built the Sauna and lounging platform, but there is still some landscaping of surrounding area to be finished The open air shower made of recycled green bottle and glass vases Is almost ready to be plumbed in

We have ongoing land clearing, weeding, pruning, landscaping, olive picking, and planting in the veggie garden.
Building stone walls, steps, terraces, tiling and mosaic work.
Painting, cleaning and cooking.

We can accommodate volunteer helpers in a small caravan, a room in the house, or a tent on land, where there is also plenty of space to park your own vehicle

Situated on the edge of a small village with a bar, primary school, church, doctors surgery and park.
There is an ecological distribution centre, Handy with its small shop selling organic veggies and Whole Foods. Their cafe organise frequent events, like exhibitions, markets classes and workshops..

Orgiva 6km by road, it has a frequent bus service (or 45 min walking, cross country, over the river).
Orgiva with its shops, bars, restaurants, banks and post office, with the popular Thursday market, serves as a hub for the nearby villages and alternative groups who have settled in the surrounding mountains and valleys.

We look after chickens and a small dog.

We eat a mainly organic vegan, vegetarian diet.

We have WI-FI internet.Mains electric and water.

We generally work 5 hours, 5 days a week, with weekends free, that's flexible.

We are 35 min drive away from the beaches of the costa del sol, and in the other direction Granada, with the Sierra Nevada mountain range
You can explore the surrounding area, with its picturesque whitewashed mountain villages. There are also many activities like hiking, skiing, mountain bike, horse riding, and yoga available.
There are regular buses to Orgiva, from all directions and then to the village Tablones.

We look forward to meeting you.

reviews (11)
Helper: Yuri Gelao Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: November 29, 2018
I don’t know why I didn’t write this review earlier. In the last period I st... view complete review

Helper: Karen and Richard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 8, 2018
Emma has a beautiful place with fantastic views of the mountains. We staye... view complete review

Helper: Dusana and Sebastian Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Slovakia Date: May 4, 2017
Fui ala finca de Emma por dos semanas y termine quedandome un mes y un poco m... view complete review

Helper: Zornitsa Halacheva Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: March 20, 2017
My stay with Emma and her family was, for me, a super nice experience. I imme... view complete review

Helper: Aqua and Mike Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: December 22, 2016
Emma is a strong, independent woman whose accomplishments are inspiring. Her ... view complete review

Helper: Abi and Chandos Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: December 22, 2015
With a host this nice, you might want to go twice. Our stay at Emma and her c... view complete review

Helper: Agustín Castellanos Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Argentina Date: June 28, 2015
Thank you Emma goddess of food for my time in Los Tablones! I had a great tim... view complete review

Helper: Jake and Rachel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: May 6, 2015
Our stay at Emmas place was absolutely incredible, and everything we hoped to... view complete review

Helper: Sean Yuen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: February 5, 2015
I stayed with Emma for a month in Jan 2015, and the experience was wonderful.... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Stephanie and Geode Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: January 30, 2015
We really enjoyed the two plus weeks we stayed with Emma; she and her kids ma... view complete review

Helper: Sarah and Daniel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: November 20, 2014
we stayed with Emma and her two beautiful children on their property that ove... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use