help exchange   Host 28517
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Arrens Marsous
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 28517
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 19, 2019

*UPDATE* We are just about to move house, and urgently need two strong helpers to assist with moving our furniture to our new home.

We are a Simon and Suzanne, a British couple who have been running holiday accommodation in the Pyrenees from a large property with spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. In our fifteen years here we have welcomed holidaymakers from all over the world and introduced them to our lovely area, and many have returned to visit us several times. Our two children are now in their 20s and no longer live here.

We have now closed our letting business, and are preparing to move house. We need people to help with packing and dismantling furniture, but there is also ongoing outside work (mowing, gardening, weed clearance) to keep the property well maintained pending the sale to new owners.

We have two Border Collies, which both compete in agility, although one has just had six puppies, and is currently having a break from competition. Helpers will also be required to assist with looking after the puppies and helping to socialise them.

In our 4 hectares of grounds we keep geese, ducks and chickens for eggs and/or meat. Completing the menagerie are two cats.

We would like volunteers to stay for two weeks, but this period can often be extended if both parties are happy with the arrangement. We ask for a commitment of six hours per day for five days, with two days off, in return for your own accommodation, and breakfast, lunch and three-course evening meal, eaten with us. Hours and days off can be flexible.

This is an area renowned for its walking and cycling routes, and for skiing - both downhill and cross country - in the winter. We can give you advice on local activities and help you arrange them. Suzanne (native English speaker, but fluent in French) can help you perfect your French, and never tires of sharing her knowledge of raising poultry and goats.

Accommodation will be in one of our comfortable guest apartments. Guest units have private bathrooms, own laundry facilities, TV and WiFi access.

Volunteers must like animals and be non smokers. People who like dogs in particular and who are used to handling them will be especially welcome. Other than that, the only prerequisites are flexibility, a sense of humour and a willingness to get stuck in. In terms of catering, Suzanne has a number of dietary restrictions involving many of the things that provide the protein in vegetarian diets, and for this reason we are unable to cater for vegetarians or vegans.

For more information on what we have here, visit our website, see link above. We look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use