help exchange   Host 28525
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Aldea de Puy de Cinca
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28525
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 28, 2019

*** We are looking for 3 volunteers to help us building an extension of our house. Dates: end of September and October. People with backgrounds in construction are wellcome. ***

We are a non-profit association that is restoring a farm in a remote village on the foothills of Pyrenees. Our project is to start up an abandoned farm with the principles of the agroecology and the bioconstruction.
It’s a beautiful place next to a lake and surrounded by nature.

We are a Spanish family with one 10-year-old girl and a 5-year-old boy who look after la Aldea de Puy de Cinca, a tiny rural mountain settlement in the foothills of the Pyrenees mountains in Aragón, Spain. The vista from here is breathtakingly spectacular, ringed by soaring mountains and rocky outcrops with a clear blue lake lapping at our doorstep. Nearby are many small abandoned villages, and the Aldea is perfect for hiking, canyoning, rock climbing, swimming (we have several boats and bicycles if you'd like to use them) and outdoor sports.

Our main project for volunteers is helping to expand and maintain our gardens and greenhouse, we also have other greenhouses and gardens which have fallen slightly into disuse, as well as lots of chickens, rabbits, donkeys, two mares, and a few dogs. We are passionate about restoring this farm using the principals or agroecology, bioconstruction and organic farming, and we especially welcome people with backgrounds in these areas, as we ourselves are relatively new in this and would love to learn and collaborate with others!

We have plenty of space for helpers in our hostel, which we run in the summer but usually in winter it is fairly empty! It is about 1 minute from our house, where we have wifi, and of course you will get to eat all the delicious food that we grow in the gardens! Because we have young children it is difficult for us to get out in the garden and achieve as much as we'd like, so volunteers are very welcome all year round! We have had many people over the last year, from many different places and getting to know other cultures though volunteers is one of the things we enjoy the most.

We are happy to pick you up and drop you off at the nearest large town, Graus which is about 30 minutes away, and an absolutely gorgeous drive. I (Belén) Speak English, Catalan and French but the rest of the family uses Spanish to communicate, so this is an ideal place to practice tu español! Feel free to email or call and ask questions!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use