help exchange   Host 28703
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Quathiaski Cove
All Year: may to October
Area (ha): 10 acres
Persons: one or couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28703
Region: BC, Islands

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 13, 2020

Hello, thank you for checking my profile.
I am Marie, your host and I would welcome you in my home which is on a 10 acre property at the south end of beautiful Quadra Island, just 10 minutes by ferry from the city of Campbell River on Vancouver Island. Quadra has a variety of wildlife and incredible scenery as well as lots of activities to offer, which include hiking, biking, kayaking and rock climbing as well as incredible photography opportunities.
The property is mostly treed with evergreens and some deciduous. Two acres approx is fenced, containing organically grown small fruits, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and some fruit trees including figs which should provide fruit this year as well also just planted a peach pear and almond .My vegetable garden does well and provides us with produce throughout the year. Now using my greenhouse built by helpers for more delicate vegetables .
My home is a cedar sided home where I reside with my miniature schnauzer dog Ella, and frequent family visiting.
The local village area is 7 km away, where I usually visit daily. The trails for walking and biking are close by and the ocean 15 minutes walk away, where there is an abundance of sea life including seals, many seabirds and frequently porpoises, whales and sea lions. Hiking and Biking trails of various levels are available on the Island, where we sometimes encounter signs of black bears, cougar and wolves.
Most of the jobs would include mowing, weed eating (whipper snipper), weeding, digging, planting, harvesting and moving materials ie. seaweed, sawdust and mulch to required areas and some tree seedling transplanting, firewood splitting and other chores by choice. There is an opportunity for creativity in recently partially logged area where I've planted some nut trees. Always open to suggestions and new ideas.
If you have carpentry , plumbing / reno experience , masonry [gate posts or rock walls,]landscaping or building experience there are several projects available to be done,. Pond and fencing almost completed with help from Helpx workers.
I enjoy having happy and energetic people around.
Accommodation is a room in the family home and internet is available but no t.v. Help in the home with cooking or other would be appreciated as planned.
I enjoy sharing new cooking experiences. Both vegetarian and omnivore diets available.
Non smokers only.
Quadra Island is an exciting place to spend a Spring, Summer or Fall and I will do my utmost to help make it an interesting experience by showing off Quadra's uniqueness.
Look forward to hearing from you.
Marie

reviews (11)
Helper: Tasmin and Craig Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: March 13, 2020
We stayed with Marie for 10 days in August 2019 and had such a lovely time. M... view complete review

Helper: Gaelle Cartigny Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: October 13, 2019
Marie bas been my first HelpX experience in Canada and be sure that I donít r... view complete review

Helper: Ellen Schoenmaker Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 13, 2019
I stayed at Marie's place for 2.5 weeks and it was a very enjoyable time. She... view complete review

Helper: Arthur and Cassandra Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 23, 2019
Cassandra and I spent two weeks on Quadra with Marie and Ella in February, an... view complete review

Helper: William Glover Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: March 21, 2019
I'm rather late in writing this - I stayed with Marie last October (2018) - b... view complete review

Helper: Janice Higgison Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: March 8, 2019
staying at marie's organic orchard on Quadra was a highlight of my time in Ca... view complete review

Helper: Sandra Rottler Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 24, 2018
I stayed at Donegal place with Marie and her cute dog Ella in late May/early ... view complete review

Helper: Brandan hopkins Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: August 3, 2017
Bit late on the review but i stayed at Maries in late May for 3 weeks. Marie ... view complete review

Helper: Bryan Hogerheide Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: July 19, 2017
Staying with Marie was really great. She makes sure to introduce her helpers ... view complete review

Helper: Florian BAC Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 29, 2015
Hi ! I'm a little being late to write the reference but later is better than ... view complete review

Helper: Vinzenz Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Austria Date: November 2, 2014
I stayed at Marie's place in the End of September. When the weather let us we... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use