help exchange   Host 28725
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Challain La Potherie
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 4-5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28725
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 6, 2014

Hi, This is a real challenge for you !!!
We are trying to renovate the farm and run it at the same time. It is not easy. It had been abandoned for a few years. We started with a few chickens and rabbits, now we have goats, sheep, a donkey, lots of birds, a huge fowl unit under construction, clearance of the ground - brambles and stinging nettles all over ! as well as a bit of a garden. The project of a small business is hatching, but I have to start a year's course to obtain a status of a farmer. So I need help with the morning chores, not really anything else, although participation in all aspects of life tending to be self sufficient muchly appreciated ;-). The morning chores include:
-preparing the breakfast faire for the 2 pigs, 10 goats, geese, ducks, chickens, rabbits; the sheep and the donkey have all-you-can-eat buffet in their 6 ha field behind the house; distributing hay to those who eat it, some straw to make everybody comfy- as needed, topping up water for everybody. Then normally once a week each department gets some extra care, which is focusing on their special needs, cleaning their quarters, repairs, health/maintenance issues etc, as needed and greatly depending on the weather, too.
The AM routine takes app 2 hrs unless you stop and chat to everybody - I do !!!, or there's milking to do or hand feeding babies, or unexpected issues - always expect unexpected issues ! etc.
We offer 2 modest rooms, full board 7 days a week, about 20 hrs of work a week. We provide linen but bring your own towels, please.
I speak 4 languages fluently, English, French, Polish, Russian, I am also a qualified English teacher and offer help with the language if needed/wanted; my husband speaks English and French. We eat what grows on our land, that include some of the animals. Food and drink - we are in France ! - is a very important issue here. The house is cool in summer and cold in winter- but dry. In due course it will be renovated inside and outside. Warm, sensible clothes and wellies recommended all year.No flip-flops, shorts or mini skirts, well, skirts or dresses are not practical here, lots of brambles and stinging nettles quite vicious and sturdy, so long sleeves and long trousers. Trompe Souris is very isolated, next door neighbours are about 1km away, they have just moved in and started to renovate their farm, too !!! we have no TV, mostly because we have no time for it, but also we feel no need. There's always some info we need, so we spend time on line looking for answers. Thus friends/couples are very welcome, to keep each other company. Oh, there are 3 border collies and 3 cats, too.
A pile of wire fencing has come, this is the most important and very urgent job at the moment - the huge run for all my birds - chickens, ducks, and geese. And one turkey. I will be hatching 200 eggs over the next few weeks. I sell them as little chicks, smaller or bigger chickens, young hens or big roasting birds, all long as all other fowl: partridges, ducks, wild ducks, phesants, gees. The polytunnel is full of wonderful things to eat, well, to look after as well, pull weeds out, trim, fertilize. water etc etc. Two new lovely lady rabbits have arrived and went straight to work, which means we'll have more baby rabbits in 28 days. We work very long days in summer, any help is priceless. Thanks for listening !!!

Does it sound attractive? I bet it does !! So see you soon !

My three Helpexers will be leaving shortly and I really would like somebody from the late July, and definitely after the 4th of August.

It is a lovely, relaxing place, life in a slow lane close to the rythm of nature. Saying that, it is very different here from the life everywhere else, self sufficiency is about eating what we have available, gathering and herbs for tisanes etc. recycling or rather reusing everyhting possible, not throwing food away etc.

So no fussy eaters, please, we do not serve coffee and croisants, just plain, pure, home grown food, often vegetarian, turned into tasty dishes with no fancy names.

However, I really need somebody serious and willing to stay longer from September on, otherwise I will not be able to start the course, which is very important as they like the papers here in France.


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use