help exchange   Host 28827
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Greenville
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 2+
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 28827
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 29, 2014

I am in Greenville, Florida. Thank you for taking the time to consider visiting here with me... My farm is on 4 acres of land with a garden, two horses, 8 cats, 9 dogs and 2 goats. If you do not care much for animals this would not be the place to come. Part of the reason I am on HelpX is for my animals to enjoy lots of love from various other people. I have had people here who don't particularly like animals and that doesn't work out. I am looking for someone to live here long term preferably to help me care for the place; animals, (riding skills are greatly welcomed) finish the cob house I have started, plant and tend the garden, help with household chores and do general maintenance of the property. I have the ability to house 6 people in comfort here. I want to host experienced people to help in the following ways. A brilliant marketing mind to help me promote and market my business, (the thing that supports all of this) a skilled and gentle horse person to ride, train and exercise the horses and tend the animals, someone who is an expert gardener who can really improve and make the gardens thrive, a handyman to help with repairs and improvements, and help with household and misc. errands and chores. There will also be times that I may need to be away for short trips so I need someone responsible to take care of things while I am gone. I definitely prefer more long term stays than short term and although it is wonderful to teach people new things I really need people here who know what they are doing and are responsible, self motivated, and know how to be a good guest in my home. I have a small business and would love for someone to come that can help me market my business and has computer website building, email/socal media marketing skills and knowledge. Accommodations include two one-room studios with outdoor shower and toilet, and a bedroom in the main house if necessary. (If you prefer a more primitive experience please bring along your tent.) We use a grill and campfire for outdoor cooking and also have a conventional kitchen in the main house. Many nights we can be found around a fire sipping wine and getting to know each other. Food preparation responsibilities and housekeeping are shared. If the house is a mess and you are above cleaning then please do not contact me. I need people who are willing to pitch in wherever they are needed to keep this place running peacefully and harmoniously. We are not gluten free and strict adherence to any special diet is difficult. So if you're gluten free, dairy free, nut free, egg free etc. This would not be a good fit for you.
There are plenty of natural activities to enjoy away from our homestead. I am busy much of the week tending to my business so volunteers must be consistent and self motivated and if they see something that needs doing have the wherewithal to take care of it. I do not want to have to raise anyone so if you do not understand how to be a willing participant and a gracious guest it would not work well. I say this not to be intolerant, but I have experienced people who don't get what moving into someones life means and it's an unpleasant experience. The nearest small town is 20 minutes away and the nearest big city is Tallahassee, 40 miles away. The closest beach is an hour away, the area abounds with incredibly beautiful springs and rivers to tube or kayak. Open-minded, free thinkers with a will to help apply here! I look forward to hearing from you. Bethany P.S. If you are on Wwoof you can see our listing there as well. It is under Possible Dream Farm. There are lots more reviews there.
Here is a link to a video that will let you know more so you can get a feel for what life is like here... all the animals in the video live here or belong to local customers.

reviews (3)
Helper: Guillaume ROUX Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 24, 2016
My poor English vocabulary will not be good enough to explain but I'll try: ... view complete review

Helper: Geraldine and Robin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: November 10, 2014
How to explain such good with a poor vocabulary in english ? Bethany is a ... view complete review

Helper: Karen Du Bois Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 7, 2014
Bethany is a gem! She is so kind and generous to two and four-leggeds alike, ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use