help exchange   Host 28845
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 480
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28845
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 30, 2018

NEAR Great Ocean Road

COME AND VISIT US.... spring is the best time of year will love it FROM The beginning of October!

We are a large dairy farm (with 400 cows) and with some token sheep (50 sheep) in south west Victoria. We have 3 young children (izzy, fin and tiah) and also have 2 alpacas (Bindy and brandy) a dog (Monty), a cat (Bolt) and occasionally have a resident koala, heaps of kangaroos by the blue gum plantations and lots of native bird life.

We are in a beautiful and magical part of south west Vic and are less than 40 minutes from the western part of the Great Ocean Road (Port Campbell, Warrnambool and Peterborough). We are also 20 minutes from lovely Timboon, 1.25hrs from Forrest, 1.5hrs from the Grampians and Lorne and 3 hrs west of Melbourne. So we can provide a great base from which to explore!

We are only 5-10 minutes drive to Terang where there is a decent supermarket (iga) and all your needs eg post office, bottlo, news agent, coffee shop, doctors, hospital etc.

HELP NEEDED FROM its Spring weve lots of exciting projects in the garden!

1. Building a new fire pit area in the garden!

2. Building a compost system in the garden!

3. Getting the veggie patch in order! If you are keen to learn about a veggie patch and growing your own, now is the time to join us!

4. Garden maintenance eg weeding, whipper snipping and mulching!

5. Establishing a native planting bed and secret path in the garden

6. unskilled farm jobs may involve the following:

- stock work (basic eg yarding up, mustering)
- firewood clearing and collecting
- going for a drive in the new tractor! (lex would be driving!)

7. Spring cleaning jobs eg windows

When applying please let us know a bit about yourself such as what skills you have and what you'd like to gain from the exchange and we will try and tailor things to suit....there is much varied work to be done at our farm!

We expect 5 hrs of work a day, starting between 8 / 9 am to allow for the weekends off. Flexible work hours for a longer weekend may be considered! Both Lex and Rachael travelled (and would love to do more!) and therefore appreciate how important it is to explore in your travels!


1.Lodging in a 3 bedroom house. The house is very comfortable with a wood fireplace. It has a large livingroom with tv, new kitchen and bedroom. Please be respectful of The house, tidy up after yourselves and clean your room and shared living spaces when you exit. A $100 cleaning deposit will be required that will be repaid on exit.

2. A food allowance for each worker to cook your own Food

Your own transport would be an advantage during your stay (for you to explore the area, get your own groceries etc). However we are happy to provide a pick up to and from Terang Train Station (Terang station is on the warrnambool to melbourne line. Check for train times.)

You will need your own health / travel insurance. Given your work is voluntary you may not be covered by WorkSafe in the case of an accident.

Sorry, we will not accept smokers.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use