help exchange   Host 28851
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Gillingham, Dorset
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 28851
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 27, 2019

Taking helpers April - September 2020

We, Mike 70, John 81, Peter 63 and Porage (the cat) 12, have been here for five years. The house is an old English farmhouse with nice neighbours and buses to local towns, train direct to London. We go to the gym at least three times a week, and Mike and Peter like walking and running.
We need someone to illustrate and edit the books we're writing, and to help with their e-marketing also to help redesign the garden, cut the grass, prune trees, make a water feature, and dig. John is interested in interior decoration - stencilling and colour washing etc. Some of the gardening/construction is heavy work.

We are on the main line to London. The local gym has a good swimming pool. The walking scenery is excellent - Mike likes walking and running, and Peter goes swimming several times a week. We do not provide a computer for you to use, but we use WIFI all the time. The village library has computers for internet access free anyway.

You will have your own room. We don't have formal work schedules. We expect you to muck in and be part of the family and help us with day-to-day activities, but we're flexible. In return we expect to feed you and take you around to see the countryside, castles, cathedrals etc. and meet other Brits. (I should point out that we do NOT cater for non-carnivores or anyone who has particular dietary needs - tell us if there's anything you don't eat.) We have good WIFI and British TV, and we live comfortably.
We have hosted more than 30 other helpers here, in France and in Spain

Here are some reviews from helpers at our house in Spain:-

From: Ireland Date: October 2, 2014
Well I don't know where to begin. Mike and John were two of the nicest people I have ever met. I had been 6 months away from home when I arrived in Galicia but I never felt homesick once with them.
The work was very doable. Any gardening was very straightforward and while the majority of my work was helping to proof-read Mike's book I found it to be really compelling and charming work. Some of the highlights of my stay were trying Octopus for the first time and learning to play Bridge. Although I must give special mention to Mike's jokes and John's cooking which I wont soon forget.
Best of luck guys and thanks for everything.

From: United States Date: July 24, 2014
I stayed with Mike and John for a little over 2 weeks and I loved it. The work was reasonable. Mike wont ask you to do anything hes not willing to do alongside of you. The food, as other has said, is fantastic. Mike is a pretty good barber as well and can cut your hair if you sweet talk him. Their friends are help x host as well, and it was great to have company over for dinners and such. My time here was always happily busy be it work or play. Watch out though Mike and John are seasoned card sharks. Thanks for the wonderful stay Mike and John.

From: United Kingdom Date: April 3, 2014
Right, I'll start with my criticisms.... It may take me a few months to burn off the extra weight I've gained from the plentiful and delicious food we received at Mike and John's, other than that, what canIi say?
They make you part of the family, the food company and experience are all top notch, they share everything they can with their guests, and really make the experience something to remember. My advice to any helpers is to jump at the chance to stay with these two wonderful hosts.
Thank you so much,
Julyan & Chew XxX

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use