help exchange   Host 29015
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3200 square feet
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 29015
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 10, 2019


I am restoring and renovating a large Victorian house in Central London and am looking for help immediately. It is a family home (I am a single mum with an 11 year old son).

We live in Limehouse in East London, 2 minutes away from the station. Limehouse DLR is 2 stops (every 2 min) away from Bank (Central Line), Tower Hill (Circle and District Line) and Canary Wharf (Jubilee Line). It takes 20min to get to Oxford Circus on the tube. And obviously we are close to all the arty, young energy of East London.

On your own time, you can explore all the amazing things in London etc, but unfortunately, as I'm a busy working mom, I won't be providing any tour guidance. We like happy, fun people, and the odd glass of wine, but no partying in the house as this is a family home. No smokers please.

We are looking for energetic, hard working, organised and upbeat people to help me restore and renovate our characterful Victorian house. I am happy to accommodate couples. These are some of the particular skills that would be really helpful - please let me know if you have any of them!

Any experience with Georgian/Victorian building techniques a major bonus.
Carpentry (making shelves, partition walls for closets, wardrobes, decking the terrace)
A dab hand with filler, caulking, etc.
Painting, staining, sanding
Cooking/Baking & Cleaning
General help around the house

What is provided:
Your own bedroom or shared with one other person on the third floor.
Wireless internet connection
Shared bathrooms on each floor
Several shared roof terraces
Spacious kitchen and living space but every room is being worked on in some way, so it is a work in progress, but it will become more liveable whilst you are here!

You will be responsible for your own breakfast and lunch. But a hot, delicious supper will be provided. We eat meat/fish 2-3 times a week. Working hours are 7 hours a day, 5 days a week.

We prefer non-smokers and do not allow smoking in the house or garden.

What else...

Everyone must be capable of tidying up after themselves and child friendly. I don't need childcare, but would like people that like and enjoy children and would be happy once in a while to play with my son or help with homework.

Please let me know a few things about yourself and the types of skills and experience that you have with building!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use