help exchange   Host 29128
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Chatillon sur Indre
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 29128
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 19, 2019

UPDATE 06/2017 : We are in the middle of the hay-making season so we search for people willing to give a hand !

We run a little farm in the centre of France, in the department "Indre", not far from the little town of Chatillon sur Indre.

Francois works with horses and I create websites and give lessons on computer tools. We both work a lot and would like some help with garden, some painting and general house work ( cooking, cleaning, ...). This is the main core. We also need various help following the season. Some fencing, wood cutting, and help with the hay-making in summer ( we still make small rectangular bales: very traditional and social. This is a one-of-a-kind experience. Our children brought friends some times and they all loved it !)
If you have special skills we'll find a way to use them.

Even if we have horses, they are mainly customer horses, and for reasons you can understand, can't be ride by anybody.

Even if we are never out of work we are not "jailer" type of Helpx hosts. We won't ask you to do 4 hours per day from the first minute to the last. Sometimes it will be less, sometimes more. Over-all, your help must come as a spontaneous appreciation of the time you spend with us. If you feel good with your help and we too, then whatever if you do only three hours per day ! I won't be behind you all day long trying to slave you down ! :)

This is an important point too. As we both work quite a lot, you will often be by yourself or so. We are more free by the end of the day ( around 7-8pm. We have a quite late rhythm and often dine around 9), and we could organize a visit of "La Brenne" ( " the one-thousand ponds region") not far away, or go to see a castle ( we are close to "les chateaux de la Loire"), or take a stroll in the forest. I'll think about more things to do later on !

As we are quite remote from everything, it would be better for you if you have your own car. Nevertheless, you can come by bus ( from Chateauroux or Tours) and I'll pick you up at Chatillon sur Indre.

In summer we regularly dive into the river. We own a private little beach at the end of a field.
If you like to walk or to cycle you have plenty of space to enjoy yourself ( you have plenty of space to do everything you want actually). We can lend you a bike if needed.

Currently, We try to improve our English level and would be delighted to speak in English with you. If you want to learn French we'll help you as much as possible :)

We can cater a vegetarian diet but it is resolutely a meat-eaters house.
On the photos you can see the room you'll sleep in and the front part of the house.

reviews (3)
Helper: Nicholas Holgate Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: March 30, 2016
Cathy and François kindly accepted my request to stay during the Easter long ... view complete review

Helper: Yuen han Chow Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: August 5, 2014
I think I am really lucky to met them. When I first day arrived, they asked m... view complete review

Helper: Matt and Meagan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: June 18, 2014
Francois and Cathy are angels. They are loving people who work hard and enjoy... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use