help exchange   Host 29211
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: Single or a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 29211
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 7, 2018

**We have space from 19th March for helpers who would like to stay for about two weeks.**

We keep poultry and rabbits and have a vegetable garden at our house in a small village on the Quantock Hills. We are also involved with our family horticultural nursery and smallholding two miles away, where our family also has beehives. We sell eggs and breed and sell hens and rabbits. We run courses in poultry-keeping from beginners to advanced levels (that helpers are welcome to participate in). We have an interest in sustainable/local food production and are starting to experiment with perennial vegetables and how chickens can be integrated in to a system. We kill and prepare our own chicken for the table.

We are looking for help for about 28 hours a week, spread to be mutually convenient.

After being shown how and becoming confident we like helpers to take responsibility for feeding and watering the rabbits and chickens in the morning, most mornings. This usually takes about an hour to do properly. Livestock also needs feeding in the afternoon and putting to bed at night and eggs need collecting.

This spring and summer we will need help moving compost, repairing wooden vegetable bed and chicken pens, planting and weeding in the garden and polytunnel and help looking after the poultry and rabbits.

**You MUST bring a sleeping bag, boots and waterproofs.**

Our helper sleeping accommodation is a small chalet in a private corner of the garden with a small double bed, heating, electricity and wifi. Bathroom, kitchen and living-room facilities are shared in the house. We can take helpers travelling alone or as a couple. The accommodation is probably not suitable for a pair of friends as the bed is very small. Helpers can expect a cooked meal from us once a day, usually at lunch, and can make their breakfast and supper from what we have in the kitchen and fridge (and garden!). Vegetarians and Vegans are welcome but will have to cater entirely for themselves. Please bring this up when you message us.

We have bicycles, maps and local tourist information available. We are located about eight miles from Taunton on a bus route and our quiet, pretty village is an ideal starting place for walking and cycling on the Quantock Hills. Local travel routes can be found on the website and tourism info is at The village website is

We are a married couple in our forties. Our children are nine and ten. Paul's background is in theatre and Cheryl grew up on the family smallholding and spent twenty years in the IT industry and adult education before coming home. We are techie, greenish, leftish, arty. English is our first language and between us we can get by in French. Our younger child is severely disabled and as a result we are also fluent in sign language, largely Makaton. Our children are small enough to need more or less constant adult engagement when they are not at school, so it is important that helpers are comfortable with children.

reviews (9)
Helper: Jonas and Jenny Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: February 12, 2016
Hey there, we finally got our stuff sorted and hope you are not disapointed o... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Romain Berthumeyrie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 23, 2015
I stayed with Cheryl, Paul, Leo and Nenna for 2 weeks. It was a very very nic... view complete review

Helper: Judith Berta Wilder Factor Pardes Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Argentina Date: June 26, 2015
I stayed 3 weeks with Cheryl, Paul and the children (Leo is very kind, Nenna ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Michele Troiani Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: February 13, 2015
I am sorry for my delayed review. It's was my first HelpX experience and ple... view complete review

Helper: Marina and Lluis Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: January 30, 2015
We spend with this wonderful family four weeks more or less and it was a real... view complete review

Helper: Peggy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: November 9, 2014
I miss this lovely family a lot :) I really feel like home during my stay. I... view complete review

Helper: Pia Kain Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 3, 2014
I stayed with Cheryl, Paul, Leo and Nenna in august and I really enjoyed my s... view complete review

Helper: Eva Zoubek Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Austria Date: October 13, 2014
I stayed with Cheryl, Paul and their two lovely children in the beginning of ... view complete review

Helper: Kiara Yoder Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 15, 2014
I enjoyed my stay with Cheryl, Paul and kids. They welcomed me into the fami... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use