help exchange   Host 29527
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oregon House
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4+
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 29527
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 25, 2015

Our names are Christopher (47) and Rebecca (61). We are into organic farming and permaculture. We are spiritually minded without being religious, appreciating all cultures and their various teachings. Between us we have been using organic farming methods for over 65 years.

Oak Meadow became a WWOOF host farm in 2011, which led to many great exchanges of knowledge and lasting friendships. After having discovered helpX, we knew we must give it a try, as there are so many people out there wanting to learn how to live in a new, sustainable, eco-friendly way, that we know (in advance), we would enjoy meeting and working with, (like you), we had to open this door as well.

We are eight years into the process of rehabbing, an 80 year old farm into a small, bio-diverse, non-certified but organic operation, moving in the permaculture direction. We like animals and raise livestock, with dairy cows and goats being our main stay, we also have other pastured, grass fed cows, some pigs, chickens, bees and horses. We are developing organic gardens & orchards and have a small weekly farm stand.

We are looking for helpers who know what it means to be team players, and who can work independently without supervision, after initial instruction. Must be fit, sane, mature, no heavy drinkers or drug heads, or chronic pessimists please.

Activities we'd like to get help with from work exchange guests this fall include, garden work, planting fall crops, watering & irrigation management, pruning our apple trees, propagating plants and seeds, building and maintaining garden beds, feeding and caring for the critters, bottle feeding baby animals (calves), daily milking of cows, daily cleaning and care of milking machines, daily handling of milk. Help with weekly market preparation, packaging farm goods. Processing and making cheeses, brewing beer, fermenting, pickling and canning. We need and appreciate help, especially milking, feeding babies and gardening. We will also be working on some farm construction projects Work/learning exchange guests are asked to contribute 4 hours a day 5 days a week, in addition to helping with meals and cleaning up which we DO NOT consider part of work hours. Suggested stay is between two and six weeks, to which there are exceptions of course.

We eat well, and are omnivorous, leaning heavily on vegetables, cheeses we make ourselves, eggs, and some occasional home grown meats, we have no problem providing for a vegetarian diet, though pure vegans may have a problem. Our table is graced mostly with locally produced organic foods, that is, foods we produce ourselves or trade for with other local organic farmers. We have separate accommodations for exchange guests that are rustic but clean and comfortable. No dogs allowed.

We are friendly Americans, speak English and a bit of German, we are open minded, interested in exchanging information and understanding with other cultures. We are living a lifestyle we believe in, and are doing our part to be the solution to the problems facing humanity at the present time. We invite you to join us in a mutual exchange of work, culture and friendship.

reviews (1)
Helper: Nicolas and Kelsey Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 9, 2014
This is not a farm, this is a homestead. Rebecca is getting along in her year... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use