help exchange   Host 29621
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

O'Savinao, Lugo
All Year: MidSept. - Oct.30th, 2016
Area (ha): 3000 square metres
Persons: 1 - 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 29621
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2016

I am an English woman doing up an old farmhouse (the village shop many moons ago), along with a large adjoining field, and working to transform it into a space for healing and creative activity. Help would be appreciated this September til end of October when the weather is warm and temperate. I will be tree planting, gardening, and would welcome help from those with carpentry skills and knowledge of solar power systems and how to install them.
The house sits at a quiet crossroads with little traffic except cows and farmers and is surrounded by fields, woodland and picturesque rivers. Escairon is 8k away, and the major cultural city of Monforte de Lemos is 13k in the other direction. There are many different species of birds and it is a haven for those who enjoy fishing; the air is clean and the sun shines most days.
The house has four small bedrooms, it's made of brick and stone and has a traditional terracotta tiled roof. Attached to the side of the house is a large barn with a roof supported by exposed chestnut beams; inside this barn are two sheds basically equipped for animals such as horses. Part of this roof needs taking down and rebuilding, incorporating the chestnut beams in the new design. In front of the barn and sheds is a large patio spanned by an old and fruitful grapevine. Behind this patio is a large field (2500m2) containing a huge walnut tree; I would like to add fruit trees, lavender hedging, a path and seating to make it an inviting, interesting and practical space for healing and artistic activities.

WORKWISE: Autumn 2016: HELP ME DO SOME TREE PLANTING!! Also: The house needs painting and the wooden windowsills and doors need re-varnishing. A pergola constructed over the exposed end of the patio would also improve the place. In the field I am planting some fruit trees and will construct a duck pond. I would like help to build two solid bases for showers in the field and some compost toilets. (Currently, two boreholes are used to supply water to the house).
Where possible, I like to use green/eco alternatives and would welcome any practical skills and knowledge in these areas. I intend to install green roofs to provide vegetation/crops and shade, and a solar water heating system is planned for the near future.
Building, plumbing, electrical, carpentry, DIY skills and roofing skills will be welcome, as will knowledge of gardening, permaculture, and green ways of living responsibly with the land. General containment of abundant foliage and tree pruning will be appreciated too.

Helpers' info: I have to admit that I only speak English but can understand basic French, Spanish and Portuguese. I will provide breakfast and a vitamin-rich, healthy lunch and a clean room in exchange for 4 hours' help a day. Helpers are welcome to sleep in the house in their own sleeping bags (I don't have much extra bedding) or camp in the field in their own tent or yurt, or small caravan. A small dog (or cat) would be welcome too. I need to stress that I am in the countryside and live a quiet life; trips to the town will occur every 3rd day or so to get supplies, visit tapas bars, see the architecture, enjoy the Galician culture. The house and land have a very calming and restorative effect; anyone who comes to stay will benefit from that.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use