help exchange   Host 29777
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 to 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 29777
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 4, 2018


We live in a pretty village called Dunsford on the edge of Dartmoor national park. We try to grow as much veg as we can for ourselves aswell as sometimes selling it out of the gate. We are in the middle of the bus route between Exeter and Mortenhampstead on the Moor.

There are 4 permanent residents here. Its Pips place and also living here are Rory (son) and gilfriend Elsa (french speaking) ,and our friendly lodger, Paul. Elsa and I are 28 and 25 years old and work as a gardeners (and french teachers!). We have a vegetable patch and chickens and geese. In walking distance theres a wood, river and Dartmoor national park. I frequently travel to the coast with friends to go surfing / snorkeling / fishing I would be more than happy to include helpers in these activities. My mum takes our border collie walking on Dartmoor with a rambling group on Sundays.

We`d offer board and lodging in return for 4 hours of (enthusiastic!) work each day with a couple of days a week free - or the equivalent if you come for a shorter time. The work would be alongside me or alone in the garden - weeding/planting/turning the compost heaps/general maintenance. Tea breaks are compulsory. Help will most likely be needed in the garden - i`ve doubled the size of our vegy patch with the aim of feeding helpxers and selling some veg out of the garden gate! If thats all sorted (unlikely!) then our dog Finn would love to be go with you for walks/picking blackberries and we always appreciate people dipping into the weekly cooking !

We are looking for people who are happy to entertain themselves most of the time - reading (books provided), walking (maps provided) and relaxing. We have space for tents or can offer a room for 1-3 friends in the converted half of our garage - which is lovely! We are on grid and have hot water (mostly powered by solar). We try to be green but are from perfect ! We`d love to meet any friendly workers who are interested in what we have on offer. **Please note we have a policy that we need photo/photocopy of you passport/drivers just for peace of mind :D**

I am trying to learn Spanish so please let me know if you can help !

Look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use