help exchange   Host 29872
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 29872
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 22, 2018

Myself and my very energetic 5 children live as much of a self-sufficient lifestyle as we can whilst developing our natural fibre business in our small organic family farm in central france.

We breed angora goats and angora rabbits as well as sheep and process our fibres ourselves. We make felt, spin, knit, dye and more!
We produce as much as our own food as possible and have lots of fun doing it.

I'd love some help with some work to our house and barns and also with lots of jobs around the farm.
Helpers who are great with building work who can help me get this place into shape would be great, but I'd also appreciate help with any of my other work around the place such as helping with the animals,growing plants, and the huge amount of clearing up there is to do.
At the moment one of my most urgent jobs is repairing stone walls to keep the winter weather out so anyone with experience of repointing and re-building with lime mortar would be very welcome indeed!

Somebody competent with electrics and/or plumbing would be wonderful too!

We are in a beautiful area of france, very tranquil but not far from anything either. We have lots of lovely swimming lakes in the area which is also great for wildlife.

We can help you learn french and/or english and share our experiences of self-sufficiency, organic growing, fibre production and everything else with you.

We have a cosy caravan for you to stay in and look forward to welcoming you soon.

We need practical, adaptable, easygoing and kind people who should love animals and children, experience would be great, but if not willingness and enthusiasm can make up for lack of experience. We need people who don't mind hard work and enjoy getting stuck in with a 'can-do' and positive attitude but also like to have fun and enjoy nature, we don't mind if people want to join in with what we are doing or have peace and quiet on their own. A sense of humour is VERY important too! Please no 'sulkers' !

Ideally helpers need to be able to stay for a minimum of a week although longer is preferable and a longer term stay may work well for somebody who fits in and enjoys it here.
It may also be a possibility for someone who is self employed such as writers, artists, or even via computer and would like somewhere peaceful to stay and work whilst helping out.

Whilst we don't expect in any way 'free labour'we do see this as an exchange and we love to welcome people that respect our way of life and understand that whilst fantastic and satisfying and sometimes to the onlooker idyllic, the only way we manage it is by hard work. That's not to say we don't love having fun, we love music,swimming in our beautiful local lakes, and getting out to festivals.

Somebody who is experienced and sensible enough to look after everything for a night or two (or even longer)whilst I take the children camping nearby would be great sometime too. I am also looking for house/farm sitters for a week or more, we haven't been away anywhere for ten years and we'd love
to do a bit more exploring.

If you want to chat about our place in more detail and see if it may interest you please get in touch we'd love to hear from you! Feel free to ask questions, its great to get to know prospective helpxers a bit before to make sure we're all likely to be happy with arrangements.

We would love someone who can help us get our polytunnels and veg & herb gardens sorted out and/or help me to finish some work to the house to make a bedroom for helpers and a bigger studio and workspace for wool!

I also urgently need some help building a new website. I am trying but its not really my thing.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use