help exchange   Host 30415
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 80
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 30415
Country: Ireland (N)

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 2, 2015

The farm is surrounded by bog land in the Bann valley. The river is 3 miles away.

We have 9 cows, 3 calves, chickens, a big dog named Bruce, a pup named Charlie and a strange cat.

We recently completed a polytunnel made out of broken trampolines, an underground greenhouse and a natural pond. We have lots of veg in the ground, a small orchard, a woodland and lots of wild foods to forage.

This year we hope to grow enough produce to feed ourselves and to sell to the local community.

Accommodation will be in a large tent, using the house bathroom. We can provide sleeping bags and lots of extra blankets to keep your warm.

We always need help with; farm duties, permaculture gardening, woodland management, weeding, cutting firewood, sowing seeds, cooking, food preserving, seed saving, sea weed foraging on the beautiful north coast, wood carving and creating wood sculptures.

Current projects we need help with are:

building more polytunnels
building volunteer / visitor accommodation
building a bigger chicken coop / chicken tractor
designing and establishing more permaculture gardens
designing and establishing a food forest
building a woodland hut/classroom

We will share meals. We eat meat, but most of our meals are vegetarian. We have bicycles available. the dog is always up for a cycle!

I have been a volunteer on many farms worldwide, I can promise you a fair exchange and the food will not disappoint!

Musicians very welcome, we have guitars, bass, keyboard, mandolin, uke, flute, melodica, drums, sitar and not enough people to play them. I also have recording equipment.

If your interested in organic farming, permaculture, self sufficiency, music, wood carving and don't mind a bit of hard work then you will enjoy your time here.

I can collect you from the local train station in Ballymoney.

check out the facebook page, see link above.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use